🍛 Delicious Vegan Curry! 🍛

in #vegan6 years ago

Hey Steem -fam! I've had a bit more time in the kitchen recently after a slightly lazy summer and now I'm looking forward to embracing the winter months getting creative with delicious, warming food 😊


I love Indian food, to me there's nothing better than sweet, creamy, coconutty curry with a hint of ginger and spice- so that's exactly what I went for! I've never tried putting sweet potato in a curry but the idea of that seemed like the perfect addition to a sweet curry so I went for it!

2.jpeg


What you'll need (Serves 4):

  • 400ml can coconut milk
  • 500g sweet potato, peeled and cubed
  • 2 tsp smooth peanut butter
  • 3 tbsp red curry paste (be careful- most brands contain fish!)
  • 200g fresh spinach
  • 2 inch chunk of fresh ginger- grated
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 red onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • Handful of cashews, roughly chopped.

To serve: Cooked rice

1.jpeg


Method:

  • Melt the coconut oil in a large pan, fry the onions for 5 minutes until browned.

2.jpeg

  • Add the ginger and garlic and fry for a further 1 minute.

3.jpeg

  • Stir in the curry paste, peanut butter and sweet potato, then the coconut milk and 200ml of water.

4.jpeg

  • Bring to the boil, then leave to simmer for 25 minutes or until the sweet potato has softened.

6.jpeg

  • Stir in the spinach, lime juice and salt and pepper to taste.

7.jpeg

  • Serve over cooked rice, with a sprinkling of cashews for garnish.

10.jpeg


It's so simple and delicious!


This recipe is definitely going into my regular rotation- so creamy and sweet it's the perfect winter comfort food 😋 Never again will I be tempted by ordering Indian takeaway when I know a simple, easy and healthy option is so easy to achieve at home.


I hope you enjoyed this post, if you did please upvote, comment, resteem and follow me on @lolzwithlisa for more super easy and delicious vegan recipes!

1.jpeg



Sort:  

I often cook sweet potato curry...but not usually with coconut milk, or with nuts. Full fat coconut milk is pretty expensive here, which is ironic, since normal sweetened coconut milk for like cereal is the same price as soy and almond milk. Without the coconut milk or nuts, it's a really cheap meal that you can eat regularly to keep your expenses down. The can of coconut milk raises the price $1.34...which isn't too bad, but enough that I save it for special occasions, since it isn't strictly required.

I guess the coconut milk for cereal is really diluted, I was shocked to realise recently how little coconut is actually in some of those- around 5%! The rest is water. Shocking really! I'll have to try it without the coconut milk and see how it turns out- I'm sure it'll still be great with the sweetness from the peanut butter and sweet potatoes 😊

My kind of food! Looks so good!

Thank you! I'm glad I was only cooking for 2 people so I had leftovers to enjoy 😋

I upvoted your post.

Mabuhay, keep steeming.
@Filipino

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Lolzwithlisa from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84