Another Amazing Vegan Discovery!🥪🥪

in #vegan6 years ago

Hey guys, keeping the culinary motivation going this weekend, I decided to try making something I had never even considered could be veganised until recently- the tuna mayo sandwich!

4.jpeg


There are so many amazing substitutes for everything these days that going vegan doesn't mean wanting for anything. However, fish and seafood were things that I never really thought you could replicate on a plant based diet and I must admit I was quite partial to a tuna mayo sandwich back in the day!


The internet, and social media in particular is such a goldmine of vegan inspiration that I should have known that some plant based genius out there would find a way for us enjoy this classic sarnie without any of our fish friends coming to harm 🐟🐠


Let me introduce you to...

THE CHICKPEA TUNA SANDWICH!



Some of you may have seen my post yesterday about my discovery of aquafaba, and now I find a tuna substitute made from chickpeas! Could these little beans be more amazing?


So without further ado.. here's how to make the vegan tuna mayo sandwich:


Ingredients:
  • 1 tin of chickpeas drained (keep the liquid to make Aquafaba mayo!)
  • 3-4 tbsp vegan mayo
  • Juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • 1 tbs nori flakes/ 1 crumbled sheet
  • 1/2 cup of sweetcorn
  • 2 slices wholemeal bread
  • 2 Romaine lettuce leaves
  • Salt and pepper

1.jpeg


Method:
  • Add the chickpeas to your food processor, or a large bowl if you are using an immersion blender.

  • Add the lemon juice, slat, pepper, mayo and nori flakes.

2.jpeg

  • Blend well, but don't let the mixture get too smooth. You want it to have a slightly flaky texture.

3.jpeg


  • Add more mayo if needed.

4.jpeg


  • Add the sweetcorn and mix with a spoon.

5.jpeg


  • Place a lettuce leaf on each piece of bread and top with the mixture.

7.jpeg


  • Assemble your monster sandwich and enjoy!

2.jpeg


What a revelation!


I wasn't sure how this was going to turn out at all and used the nori sheets sparingly as I didn't want an overwhelming 'fishy' taste. The result was amazing!


The flavour was nice and subtle and the texture pretty much spot on. Now that I know that the flavour is nice I will probably add more nori next time. I can't wait to try this again using red onions or gherkins in the mix 😀


I hope you liked this post, if you did please upvote, comment, resteem and follow me on @lolzwithlisa for more super simple vegan treats!moi.jpeg

Sort:  

tasty and healthy… nice! :D

Thanks! It was both, and so easy to make 👍🏻

I add pickles and mustard to mine :)

Ooh good call! That sound great 😋

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Lolzwithlisa from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Yum, this is one of my favorites. I don't eat it often bc I can't digest chickpeas easily. But when I feel brave I usually add some onions too. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91