You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I'm Going Vegan For a Month

in #vegan7 years ago

It's hard in the sense you have to find places that cook vegan food. Also I'm in Thailand, and a lot of the food is heavily egg based. Vegetarian is easy, but vegan is a different ball game. I had a friend here who was vegan a few years ago and he ordered a Pad Thai. It came out with egg in it and he said he couldn't eat it because of the egg (he even said to them 'no egg' when he ordered it) and they started to get aggressive with him demanding why. So there's definitely a language barrier problem as well. I mean, we spoke Thai to them but you never genuinely know what you are saying in a different language...

Sort:  

It's hard if you think about your "sacrifice" and it's easier if you're thinking of what the animals give up..

I commend you for doing this Lewis, it truly takes a lot of balls to stand by your word and values. I respect that. Also I feel it's going to be a really good process to document, good, bad and ugly. For I feel a lot of people are in a similar position.

They feel the awareness of the suffering, they've read some truths about nutrition and they would like to make a change. It just takes new perspective and that's what you will be giving. Thank you for that.

Excited for you mate, honestly touches my heart to know that you are starting this path.

Wholeness 👊💯

Animals do get eaten by other animals though, so its easy for me to not feel bad in that aspect, as its the circle of life. However its the inhumane way they are bred and slaughtered that I have a problem with..

It's gonna be tough, because I'm technically gonna offend everybody no matter what I do. Pro meat eaters will think I've been brainwashed and am trying to brain wash them, whereas vegans will be angry at my stance on feeling that eating meat is perfectly natural. So that won't be easy. But it's not about other people; it's about me taking the plunge and seeing what it is like, and in turn if it takes off then less animals suffer needlessly.

I'm excited too. Very nervous, but excited. Let's see where it takes me... :-)

Follow that excitement bruv, sure it's nice you think about what others will think but don't let that sway what you do man. You do you, for you and it's your health and conscience after all.

From my experience, no vegans are gonna be angry at you for eating less animals lol. That's not the point anyway, yeah it's gonna be tough as long as you hold that beLIEf mate.

Final point, do animals have the choice to farm fruits and veg? I think you find animals eat to survive and we as a human species are a little beyond that, well most you would hope right? Wholeness.

Well, our brains have evolved so we are intelligent enough to make our own food so we don't have to hunt it, but that doesn't necessarily mean that eating meat is wrong because we don't HAVE to eat it anymore. Just like how we progressed to be able to hunt using weapons, basically, our biggest weapon is our brain. However now we are intelligent, we are also aware of the repercussions of our actions and feel guilt for having the unfair advantage.

At the same time I do strongly feel that we as a species should be focusing more on eating vegetables than meat. Meat should definitely be an option because its an alternative source of nutrients and it is natural to eat other animals to carry on existing, but it shouldn't be the MAIN source of food. It should be more encouraged to eat meals that don't contain meat, as we can survive without it. That doesn't mean everyone should stop completely, but we shouldn't eat meat just for the sake of it...

This conversation is pure value Lewis, thank you for having it.

So who is saying "eating meat is wrong" ? Is this your own thought process and is it still a individual choice? Sure many people prescribe right and wrong to these things however, what I keep pointing to is do what FEELS right to you and let this be your guiding light.

All we can do is share our lives and awareness's with others, it is all ways the individual that makes the choice. So here we are, you feel "strongly that we as a species should be focusing more on eating vegetables than meat."

That's something I can fully vibe with bruv and that's a great intuition to follow for your own good :)

Unfortunately this is not my thought process at all, but a high percentage of vegans I have met who condescendingly say to me, "Don't you think what you are doing is wrong?" or "How dare you eat that innocent animal." Normally completely out of nowhere. Then they wonder why meat eaters get annoyed at vegans in general, even those who don't have that kind of arrogance...

We should eat more veggies because they are healthy and good for us, but so is meat. I feel we need a balance between the two and should be encouraging the consumption of vegetables, but not eradicate meat completely from our diet. Being vegan should be a choice, not the only option, and I feel a lot of meat eaters wouldn't dare suggest any of this to vegans because they would face a barrage of abuse.

To give you an idea of what it's like, watch this video. It's funny, but it's also a scary representation of how people feel whenever they are in the presence of the average vegan. It sounds bad to generalise, but the amount of times these situations have actually happened to me completely unprovoked, I lost count years ago...

How dare YOU!! Lol jokes I hear you buddy, sincerely I deal with this conversation almost daily. Especially since being back here in UK. I'd say any arrogant person won't get very far with that, whatever the cause is.

You're right it feels bad to generalize so let's not. Of course it's always your own choice being vegan (or not to) and there are always other options and progressive steps bro. Like I said no one else is able to make decision for you.

I've seen this guys videos, he's quite funny. Certainly adding a humorous voice to the discussion and getting people talking about this is the best thing that can come from it in my opinion. As for meat being healthy and good for us, is perhaps a matter of what information you subscribe to.

When we look at what are the biggest causes of health issues, diseases and death and follow that research then the science is solid. I could be "that vegan" and bombard you with sources but we know how that goes, if you're interested you'd ask.

😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58140.63
ETH 3077.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33