SMOKY BARLEY ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ’–

in #vegan โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

Hello my Dearest Steemians,

The cold season is here and so is time for comfort food and hot soups. Today I would like to share with you one of my favorites, super delicious and highly nutritious SMOKY BARLEY.

3.jpg

Most superfoods are quite pricy, yet barley, which is also considered a superfood, is very cost effective. In addition, you donโ€™t need a lot to make a delicious barley soup.

This one for example is made only with only 1 cup of barley combine with variety of vegetables, which are always available in the supermarket and also very affordable. Of course, even better if you have your own garden, then youโ€™re really making this soup almost for free. And who doesnโ€™t like healthy, delicious and inexpensive? I certainly do and I am sure you do as well. No to mention, it is very easy to make even for beginners.

At last I would like to share some information about barley and I hope you will find it useful. Providing blood glucose stabilization, cardiovascular protection, and cancer prevention, this ancient grain satisfies more than just the palate.

Barley is one of the oldest grains on earth, dating back to Egyptians 10,000 years ago and later brought to America by Christopher Columbus in 1494. Unfortunately, barley is not as popular as wheat or oats, at least here in North America. However, the medical community discovering more and more substantial health benefits of barley, this situation is changing.

Barley is very rich in phytochemicals, fiber, and minerals that helps prevent many diseases, so adding barley to your diet will offer many health benefits, such as balanced blood sugar levels, protection against cardiovascular disease, cancer and more.
Source: http://www.lifeextension.com/magazine/2008/12/barley/page-01

1.jpg

SMOKEY BARLEY
Barley soup with Veggies and Mushrooms
Author โ€“ Lenaโ€™s Vegan Living

INGREDIENTS
โ€ข Barley ยฝ cup
โ€ข Organic vegetable broth 2cup
โ€ข Water 2 cups (you may add more later if need it)
โ€ข Carrots 2-3 ( depends on size, sliced)
โ€ข Celery 2cups diced
โ€ข Mushrooms 1cup (sliced )
โ€ข Potatoes 2 (cut to cubes)
โ€ข Yam 1 large (cut into cubes)
โ€ข Onion 1 (cut into quarters)
โ€ข Garlic 4 cloves (minced)
โ€ข Italian parsley ยฝ cup (diced)
โ€ข Red paprika 2tbs
โ€ข Smoke liquid 1tsp (you can add more if you like)
โ€ข Black pepper to taste
โ€ข Himalayan Pink salt to taste
โ€ข Oil ยผ cup

PROCESS
โ€ข Bring water with barley to boil.
โ€ข Add the onion, carrots, celery, potatoes, yam and salt.
โ€ข Let it simmer for about 40min.
โ€ข Sautรฉ mushrooms with black pepper and garlic and add them into the soup.
โ€ข Add the smoke liquid and red paprika and stir thoroughly.
โ€ข Remove from the heat and add parsley on the end.

2.jpg

BON APPETIT & THANK YOU FOR VISITING
https://lenanovak.wixsite.com/vegan-living
Lenas-Vegan-Living-V2.gif

Sort: ย 

The perfect meal for nowadays in NY, it is cold here, very cold... and are my kind of meal all year around ๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ˜Š. Congratulations Lena that Smoky Barley looks yummy!

Thank you so much my dear, I am very happy that you like it ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ’–

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 10.0% @peaceandlove upgoat, thanks to @lenasveganliving
It consists of $2.27 vote and $0.76 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lenasveganliving to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Hi my dear! Wow! It's a great soup! In morocco ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฆ we made soup barley with the milk , always my father make it in breakfast, and it's essential for him in morning.

I should try that too, maybe with coconut milk and fruits......I guess it's a porridge. Very healthy. By the way, Dear @creativewoman, I left you a reply on your #fruits and veggies post regarding the Guest Judge role for this coming Monday. Please confirm if you are available. Thank you so much ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŒธ

Delicious and Tasty!
I invite you to go through my blog, I also talk about food, especially desserts. We are reading

Thank you so much my Dear ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŒธ

Yum! I could have used a bowl of this after waiting out in the cold to get into the Atlanta Veg Fest this morning! I'm not complaining though, it was hot here in Atlanta for so long that I am trying to appreciate the change in season. Plus soup like this tastes that much better when it warms your whole body up! :)

Oh! Veg Fest, in time of year? I find that quite unusual............we have them only at summertime. Nevertheless, I hope you had fun and i wish I could send you some of this soup, my Dear ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŒธ

Luckily the event itself was inside, but we got there half an hour before it started and the line was halfway around the building! Nice to see so many other people partaking in the event, though!

Yes that is nice, although,being in long line like that is no fun, lol.

Very nice! Food looks delicious.

Thank you so much, I am glad you like it ๐Ÿ˜Š

Sounds and looks so good

Thank you so much my Friend, I am very happy you like it ๐Ÿ˜Š

Your welcome ๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ˜Ž

Love you vegan food

Thank you so much my Dear, you are very kind ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ’–

Thank You!

My pleasure ๐Ÿ˜Š

Like the sound of this vegan winter soup! Differently, have to try this one when it gets colder here in the UK. Thanks for sharing :)

Thank you so much, I'm glad you like it my Friend............in Canada is very cold as well, so soups are my speciality, lol. I will post some more ๐Ÿ˜Š

Thanks, Look forward to see some more of your soup recipes :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76