You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tips tricks & the truth about going vegan (plus our burrito recipe)

in #vegan7 years ago (edited)

As an individual somewhere between vegetarianism and veganism who doesn't eat animals, I wish everyone on this planet knew that the thing we call "TASTE" actually does NOT exist... It's just an ILLUSION... There is no "taste". When you know that fact, things get easier when you're on your own journey to start an "animal free" diet... On the other hand, NOTHING ever can rationalize to eat animals ; the "taste", the "benefits we need", nothing. Number one reason is ethical. It's not ethical to eat animals. Well, is it ethical to eat PLANTS, given the fact that they are ALIVE too? I would say, "one step at a time" :) (Do you remember the Cincinnati Zoo Incident? I also think that The Gorilla was RIGHT! :))

Sort:  

Oh boy. Yes while plants are alive they are not sentient beings so yes it is ethical to eat plants. I have never heard that about taste. I will have to look further into this. I thought that different parts of your tongue were responsible for things like saltiness, sweetness, sourness... where is the illusion?

By the way, do you know that when a man(or a woman) with an axe in his hands enters a forest, the chemicals secreted by the Trees change? (I mean, it may be a good discussion, "the plants are sentient?") - When it comes to "TASTE" issue, In my humble opinion, the process works like this (English is not my mother tongue, so please excuse any English grammar mistakes :) )..: https://steemit.com/health/@lamegliogioventu/our-sense-of-taste-is-nothing-but-an-illusion-there-is-no-spoon

Some plants know when they are being eaten and change their taste. Certain vines can solve mazes. All living things are sentient to some degree. To value a plant over an animal is missing a point somewhere. Just my 2 cents. I applaud your success in self control!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49