Vegan "Bacon" Recipe

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Many people ask why I'm a vegetarian and I ask them if they have about 30 minutes to respond to that question. They often respond with "Well, I don't have 30 minutes but how can you live without bacon?". My response is usually, I can have the bacon taste without having to kill a smart, beautiful animal such as a pig. I'm a sucker for pigs and that's just me and my opinion. I'm totally fine with people who eat meat, I don't judge you but you should try this recipe. :-)

This Vegan "Bacon" recipe tastes great-it is a little spicy, a little sweet, smoky, sticky and plain ol' good!

IMG_0297.jpg



VEGAN BACON



Ingredients

  • Super Firm Tofu (About half the block)
  • 1 tbsp Maple Syrup
  • 2 tbsp Soy Sauce
  • 1/2 tsp Smoked Paprika
  • Black Pepper (To your liking)
  • 1 tbsp of Olive Oil
  • 1 tbsp Chipotle Sauce or Smoky Hot Sauce
  • Additional Olive Oil for frying


How To

1 - Cut tofu into thin slices.

2 - Carefully, place the tofu on a clean towel and cover the tofu with a clean towel. Press the tofu with a semi-heavy cookbook for a few minutes.

IMG_0292.jpg

3 - In a good sized baking pan, combine the soy sauce, chipotle sauce, smoked paprika, black pepper, olive oil, and maple syrup. Carefully transfer the tofu to the baking pan so they can marinate nicely.

IMG_0296.jpg

IMG_0294.jpg

4 - You must marinate for at least 15-30 minutes.

5 - Heat the olive oil for frying. You can grill and/or bake them if you prefer.

6 - Add the marinated tofu. Cook on medium heat (depending on your stove) for 5 minutes on each side. Your tofu should be firm and crispy.

7 - ENJOY!



I served the vegan bacon with corn, peas, rice and Spanish​ beans. It was absolutely wonderful! Also, think BLT's, you're welcome. ;-)

IMG_0298.jpg

IMG_0301.jpg

IMG_0302.jpg

Warmly,
Ivana



Sort:  

That does look very tasty. I will try this soon.

You should, you won't regret it.

Looks so awesome! thanks for sharing! i will start following your exciting posts! Checkout my posts as well

Vegan BLT 😀this's next level!many people complain that vegan food lack of flavour but if one use such flavourfull spices that you did in this recipe it must taste great.Defo will use this recipe in my kitchen😊
Thanks👍

I completely agree with you! Let me know how you like it when you make it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97