✌ Vegan vs Vegetarian- The Great Debate ✌

in #vegan6 years ago

Are you a vegan or a vegetarian? Are there any differences between the two or are they one and the same?

Hi, I am King Anima, hailing you from the isles of Jamaica today. I have been vegan since 2014 after a series of unfortunate events led me down this path. It was pretty easy for me to adjust as I literally stopped consuming animal products overnight without any prior thought.

vegans vs vegetarians.png


After this, I spent the next few months calling myself a vegetarian, not even knowing there was such a thing as a vegan. I had never heard the word before. It was a Gary Yourofsky's video posted on Fb that I learned it. Since then I have used the words interchangeably to refer to myself or anyone on a similar path.

To me, the word vegetarian comes from the root vegetation or vegetables, and so, it refers to a person who consumes only vegetation. But as I was trodding around each time someone discovered that I was a vegetarian they would ask me if I eat fish as if fish was a vegetable lol. My good friend Kaya, who posted that video on Fb, told me he was a vegetarian but he eats fish. This was very puzzling to me.


After a while, I learned that there are people who call themselves lacto and octo-vegetarians. These are people who eat mostly plants but consuming dairy products and eggs respectively. This doesn't make sense I thought. These people are just regular animal product consumers.

Later on, since then I have traveled to many places and met many different vegetarians and vegans and from my observations and understandings, people who consume any animal product should stop staining the good name of vegetarians with their double talk. I believe that only a person who eats strictly plants can call themselves a so.

So where does this leave us now? Well, by definition, all vegans are vegetarians. But not all vegetarians are vegans. The reason for this is that vegetarianism is primarily a dietary choice while veganism is an ethical stance against animal abuse.


Being a stance against cruelty to animals, veganism dictates that one must not eat, wear not use an animal product, bi-products or animals themselves for any reason. This is like taking vegetarianism to a higher degree. Birthed from compassion, love, intelligence, and empathy.

The reason I am writing on this topic is to have everyone think more about how our lives affect the animals of this planet. To say, if you are vegetarian, congrats, now just take that extra step onto vegan. We already enjoy the same foods and are more spiritually aligned. So let's join hands together and take that next step.

P.s I want to thank @eco-alex for his kind support and advise.

Much respect,

King Anima.

Sort:  

Awesome post King Anima! It was the same with me, I just overnight went vegan. 🌱💪It's been the best decision I have ever made.

That's awesome mate. It was the same with me. I went from eating a iece of chicken to never eating animals again just like that. Likewise, it was the best choice I ever made. Well that and not getting married to my ex lol.

Are we doing any cruelty to cow/buffalo or any other which are producing milk ? We are giving them food, taking care of them for some milk. so I think we are not cruel to all animals being a vegetarian or non-vegetarian.

Hi. t first when I just started out I thought it was okay for us to take animal milk but after I looked into it and saw how animals are treated I realized that it was wrong. You can look up what happens to most cows on factory farms. Their milk is made for their babies but we steel it and then separate them from their own kids.

Cows also don't need us to give them food, they are perfectly fine and would be better off without us bothering them.

And think about this? Cows, like all other mammals, only make milk to feed their babies. You are not a baby cow nor buffalo so you have no need for milk of any sort, not even human milk. And if you really like milk you can always try hemp, soy, or any other type of plant milk.

And remember. Animals are not here for us to use for any purpose weather we think it's okay or not. Give them freedom and you will be free, give them peace and you will have peace.

Guidance brother.

It's great to be raw vegan. At least you don’t have to cook with an oven.

Agreed man. If you ever come to Jamaica let me know an I will take you to one of the best raw vegan spots on the island. You will absoutely love it.

Hi @kinganima!

I'm happy to include this post in the CTR Crossword Puzzle No.-18. This post is being linked in CTR Crossword post. All participants for this puzzle will land on this post to find their answers to it.

Thank you for creating awesome content which is just perfect for our participants!

P.S.:
Hey, all readers of this post! If you want to participate in this contest, you’ve got a slight edge over others as you have already read this post. All of you are welcome to participate and have fun. Check the Crossword Puzzle here.


Thank you man @xyzashu, much appreciation.

I hope everyone will enjoy this contest and I will be taking part.

You're most welcome! Looking forward to your entry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.80
ETH 3460.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51