Tried Making Healthy Oatmeal Cookies For The First Time

in #vegan6 years ago

It is not so easy to eat clean and healthy all the time, especially if there aren't many options. I don't eat sugar and try to avoid white bread too most of the time as it contains all-purpose flour and sugar. However, that leaves me with a predicament: what to eat with my tea? I have also lost a lot of weight in the past two years, and I am kind of skinny right now so I was looking for a high-calorie snack too. That's when the idea of baking oatmeal cookies came to my mind as I vaguely remembered seeing pictures of these cookies on Instagram.

Most of the recipes I saw on the internet use all purpose flour too. So I looked for some more until I found some recipes which did not call for all-purpose flour. Finally, I decided to go with this one:

1 cup oats
2 bananas
chopped nuts/peanut butter/lemon zest

20180120_180028.jpg

I am more accustomed to using barley than oats. But, I wasn't sure if barley would be suitable for the recipe so I got oats. I made the mistake of using more than a cup of oats. I used 3 bananas as mine were small, but I should have added more as I used more oats. I added 2 tablespoons of peanut butter and around 5-6 almonds. Baked them for 25 minutes at 175 degrees Celsius as per the instructions but they appeared to be uncooked. I ended baking them for about 50 minutes.
20180120_180410.jpg

To be honest, I wasn't satisfied. My picky brother refused to eat the cookies. When I tried them, they weren't bad but seemed uncooked from the inside. I would like them to be more crispy. So, if you make healthy oatmeal cookies, please tell me how to tweak mine and share yours with me!

Sort:  

"I have also lost a lot of weight in the past two years, and I am kind of skinny right now so I was looking for a high-calorie snack too."

IMO, the whole stuff about calories adding weight isn't true. People like to blame calories and go on starvation diets, but really it's the fat in all the meat and dairy they eat that adds the weight (but they don't want to cut that stuff out so they blame the calories, and plenty of "experts" play into it).

Personally I wouldn't worry about being lean, if you're eating enough and feel strong and healthy and everything. I'd just slam in a ton of calories, and then if you're skinny, that's probably just how they designed you lol.

Too bad the cookies didn't work out but I'm sure if you google around you'll find a great recipe.

Usually when I make stuff like that I use vegan butter in place of dairy butter and stuff like that, and veganize it that way, rather than totally overhauling it with different ingredients. Not the healthiest way to do it, but still vegan.

Hey, I do not believe in tracking calories either but I think right now I am not eating as much as I should. I also feel down sometimes, and I do not like what I see in the mirror these days as I look exhausted and sick sometimes. I really think I need to put on some weight.

I used peanut butter in the cookie. I have been thinking about making my own peanut butter since forever. Hopefully, I will do it the next week. Thanks for your feedback! :)

Ya for sure, definitely eat a ton of calories IMO!! There's a site cronometer.com where you can input everything you eat and it tells you your amount of calories and all nutrients

Peanut butter is great I think, and try to eat way too many calories, like at least 3000 if you're male, probably just as many as you're comfortable with .. you'll be buzzing with energy in no time lol

thanks for recommending that website! And I am a girl lol, but definitely need tonns of calories.

yaaaa tons of calories either way! :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57809.89
ETH 3118.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37