You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I'm Going Vegan For a Month

in #vegan7 years ago

I'm going to try and be as logical as possible here.

  1. Good for you. I know that some of us vegans can be a pain in the ass and it really does give vegans a bad name... but
  2. I think if all vegans were just loving and accepting, the people who want to continue eating meat would find a new excuse not to go vegan... which leads me to
  3. The nutrients you want to get from animal products, the animals got through plants. You're just adding a middle man, plus cholesterol.
    The amino acids you get from animal protein, they got from the plants. Our bodies can not use protein, they can only use amino acids. When we ingest amino acids in the form of protein we add an unecessary step to digestion, of breaking down the protein in to amino acids, that is extremely taxing on our digestive system, specifically our colons.

Humans evolved to eat animals to survive in cold climates and when food was scarce, however that is not the case in most of the world any longer. It's modern obligation to do the least harm possible, and that should include to yourself.

I'm not trying to discourage you, but I truly think if you give this a REAL shot, don't PLAN on stopping... you will truly reap the benefits.

It's an amazing journey. My dad said he'd never go vegan, and then he did... and now he's healthy again :)
Then my step mom went vegan, and her sister, and my step sister...

No one ever regrets it.

Also, if you start feeling like crap in the first few days, you're detoxing from all the garbage you've been feeding yourself. IT'S A GOOD THING!!

Sort:  

I'm not going to lie, the last point was very confusing. I'm not even going to pretend to understand it. I mean it sounds scary, but I don't have any issues with my colon. If I did, then you would have an excellent point. I mean you could be 100% right, but now all I'm thinking about is am I going to be really sick, when five minutes ago I was perfectly healthy.

I agree with doing as little harm as possible, but I shouldn't have to sacrifice anything to make sure other animals survive. It should be about looking after number one. Then once you know you are OK then you can look at helping - or in this case saving - those around you.

For me this is about two things; seeing how my body reacts to not eating meat etc... and reducing the amount of cruelty to animals. If I go vegan tomorrow, then the reduction will be literally zero. The huge influx of animals being brought to slaughter will not go down because I've decided to stop eating pork, but if more and more people go vegan for a month every year, then that ripple can have a significant effect on meat consumption worldwide, and in turn less animals being farmed in terrible conditions.

Sorry if this message sounds a bit blunt. I read it back before I pressed post and I would completely understand if you thought I was being rude. I didn't mean for the message to come across that way. You seem really really supportive and I thank you for it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60748.61
ETH 2912.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36