Your Average Everyday Vegan- White Bean Dill Olive Hummus with Fresh Veggies

in #vegan7 years ago

White Bean Dill Olive Hummus with Fresh Veggies

I’ve made this twice this week. Something about a satisfying meal that only requires a few cans to be opened, a bit of chopping, and a food processor to be rinsed, sounds perfect after a long day at work- we’re talking 14 hours long!

Ingredients:

• Two cans of Great Northern Beans
• A few sprigs of fresh Dill (1/2 cup)
• Six Castelvetrano Olives-depitted (or Olive of choice)
• 1 tsp of Olive Oil
• Dash of Salt
• 2 Tbsp Nutritional Yeast
• Dash of Cayenne (I like mine Spicy!)
• (optional) A large handful of fresh Organic Baby’s Spinach

Preparation:

• Place all ingredients except Spinach in Food Processor in that order, and Process until smooth but still chunky.
• Add Fresh Organic Baby Spinach and process until mostly smooth (I like mine to have some thickness to it!)
• Adjust taste by adding more oil, spices, herbs, or salt- depending on what it seems to be lacking.
• Cut up some of your favorite veggies to dip with
(I like carrots and celery- there is also bell peppers, cherry tomatoes, cucumbers, broccoli etc.)
•Voila!! Done. Eat and Enjoy!
• A few other pointers

  • if you don’t like Dill, you could use Fresh Basil or other favorite herb
  • if you don’t like Greathern Northern Beans, I have also made this recipe with Garbanzo Beans (Chickpeas) and it turns out just as well!
  • and you could also add a little lemon juice or tomatoes to give it a brighter note!

Hope you enjoy! 🌿 💚✨

This is my first vegan/foodie post on Steemit!

Exciting stuff because 90% or more of the food I make is vegan (and the rest vegetarian), and I make really healthy nutritious simple food ALL THE TIME. 🌱

I have been shy to share it because of two main reasons:

  1. My food seems so simple and average

  2. I am no expert food photographer- also pretty average skills here- with the same plastic bowls used on a daily basis.

But recently I was appreciating these aspects of myself, and thought, what if I looked at it another way!

  1. My Food is Simple- it is also pretty easy to make!

  2. Average photography might actually seem reasonable and approachable to some people!

Now don’t get me wrong! Food photography is BEAUTIFUL and an amazing art to master, and perhaps I will get there! But it would be a shame to hold back now, and instead I should just begin sharing the wonders I have inside my plain bowls that are quick and simple and fulfilling to make!

Excited to keep sharing with you- fellow foodies!

Blessings!

Sort:  

Yay! share more vegan recipes! I think that simple dishes are actually a true beauty to post! People who aren't regulars in the kitchen can get pretty scared off by thick lists of ingredients and techniques.
This is approachable, and vegan food should be approachable! Simple dishes make for simple quality. Steem on @invested!

Thank you so much @coyoteom! 🙏🏻 You are so right! I super appreciate your encouragement!
I will for sure continue to post simple recipes!
Blessings!
from Your average everyday vegan 🌱

Congratulations @invested! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @invested! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @invested! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58733.26
ETH 2663.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44