You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DIET - PART I: Why I stopped eating meat

in #vegan6 years ago

I’m still very impressed about this transition and remember how sometimes I even kept on forgetting that you didn’t eat meat anymore when you were visiting!

More and more I started to notice that red meat in particular gives me a horrible “after effect” so to speak so I decided to consume it only once a month or so (when eating at an expensive restaurant).

Other things like eggs and cheese are definitely a lot harder to give up. CHEESE especially. Probably because I never found a good alternative to it...

The only thing I will say is that I’m not 100% sure that it will be easier here in the UK. You see, I’ve always found it a lot easier to not eat any meat at all (apart from occasional chicken) in Southeast Asia due to the climate there - it’s always warm and stuffy so all I wanted was fresh fruit and veg. When you live in a colder climate - you kind of need to substitute meat with carbs: a) to make you feel fuller and b) simply to make you feel warmer lol. And personally heavy carbs didn’t make me feel good (but then that just might be me).

I’m tempted to post my vegan challenge from last year but I’ve enjoyed reading this a lot. At the end of the day - every body is different and like you say, research is everything 🧐

Sort:  

Yeah that's true. Climate wise it's easier to eat cleaner here, the only problem is fish sauce is the base of most sauces. So it's never truly vegan.
Cheese is the hardest, man! I'm looking into alternatives. I eat a LOT of carbs, but carbs aren't the enemy. There's carbs.. and then there's carbs. If you get me. But every body is different I think and I recently was reading about how different blood types respond better to different kind of foods. Perhaps some truth in that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68797.43
ETH 3730.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76