Vegan Bean Bunny Chow

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

image

No actual bunny's used in this meal, it has its name because of the fluffy white bread, like a bunny's tail. It is basically a quarter loaf of bread with the inside cut out so the bread looks like a bowl, and filled with curry. You will see in the picture I don't have a typical loaf, meaning it is not a square bottom which is a bit harder and I have to use a bowl to keep it upright , I just like the taste of this bread. This is a common take away meal in kwa Zulu Natal South Africa, and it is also one of my favourite meals.

To start off with I make bean curry, but you can use any curry if you not vegan. I fry some mustard seeds, fennel seeds, cumin seeds, cinnamon sticks and bay leaves until I hear popping. I then throw in chopped onions and garlic.

image

image

I fry till onions are translucent, then throw in a heaped teaspoon of chilli powder, curry powder, Graham masala, and half a level teaspoon turmeric powder.
Fry a little then add two large chopped tomatoes.

image

Then about 300 ml water and level teaspoon salt, chop up a few potatoes and throw them in and cook till nearly soft.

image

Make sure there is enough water to just cover potatoes.

image

Then a can of red beans and a can of chic peas. Once cooked I chop up fresh coriander, throw it in and mix. Then I cut the bread like a bowl and serve.

image

If you like curry, then you will love this, give it a go.

Sort:  

It looks so hearty, what a unique blend of spice and cooking method. the photo looks so appetizing and wonderful. Nice meal, cheers 😋

Thanks


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Looks absolutely amazing @gguy773. Another recipes I need to try for my daughter-in-law. She's not vegan, but is vegetarian.

As you know you were featured in this week's @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @oclinton.

Thanks, I'm sure she will like it, yeah I saw I have been mentioned, lucky me.

Hello foodie steemian!

You get an homemade upvote from SteemKitchen! 👍
This was given by hand and not by a bot.
You have received this as motivation from us, so you can keep going on with your great dishes.

---Yummy, thats what i have to try next time :-) ---

We are looking forward to see you soon on our discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk , so we can exchange fresh new recipes and delicious meals with each other 🌮🍔🍩.

With friendly regards, your curator of today @avizor;-)

banner.png

Thank you very much

Looks delicious! I'm going to try to make this.

Any tips for gluten free bread?

as long as it is not sliced it will work, I have done it before withe gluten free and it was awesome.

We recently switched to vegan. When I say that, we still have dairy. But no meat (unless it's served to us by a host).

So yeah I'm going to give this a shot, thanks!

look so delicious @gguy773, never tried the curry with bread before, because our curry usually served with something like pita bread or roti jala and add chicken meat or goat meat rather than potatoes (well.. I'mnot vegan), 2-3 spooonfull of coconut cream will make it more yummy I guess :D thanks for sharing the recipe.

found your post through @oclinton entry post to the pay it forward contest this week.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-20T17:36:36
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 758.35/200.00
Total Photos: 120
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Kind of looks like bunny ears too.
I love that you added so many pictures. That makes it easy to follow along.
I found your post because you were featured in this weeks pay it forward curation contest by @oclinton

Hola @gguy773, te felicito por tu post, llegue, a este post, por @oclinton , esta participando en el concurso de curaduría Pay it Forward, un abrazo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54225.25
ETH 2280.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29