Test kitchen: Carrot Edition 🥕

in #vegan6 years ago

I’m working on eating more colorful foods. The accidental theme for this week was carrots. I made Carrot Lox, Savory scones, and carrot cake. I couldn’t tell you why carrot were on my brain this week, but I’m glad that they are. My goal is to make more gluten free foods that have the right texture, won’t hurt my digestive system and remind me of gluten based food.

First were the carrot lox, this recipe was modified from (https://olivesfordinner.com/2015/03/carrot-lox.html). I definitely shouldn’t have modified them and should have just stuck to the original recipe because I didn’t cook these long enough. They had the silky texture of lox, but they were still crunchy which was kind of disappointing.

2750BC36-D532-492D-9D08-0804784486E9.jpeg

Next was a savory carrot, polenta, cheese and green onion scone adapted from http://www.honeybunchofoniontops.com
I’m still working on getting texture light and fluffy - I may sub out buckwheat flour next time instead of the millet/Brown rice/white rice ratio I used. The best part about these biscuits is that when they’re paired with the butter/garlic spread they remind me of the OG red lobster biscuits.

D712D852-B0EB-4959-AC6D-C1F9C0B7CABA.jpeg

The next recipe was my attempt at a carrot cake. I just had so much left over carrot from the first recipe that I gave it a go. Again, texture was an issue, but I’m getting there! I served it with whipped coconut cream that I refrigerated over night and folded some berries into it for sweetness.

2768B425-00BC-4DF2-A097-EE7B41C1B37D.jpeg

Sort:  

Congratulations @generallygen! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @generallygen! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59077.53
ETH 2518.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48