VEGANS AGAINST VEGAN STUPIDITY

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Such a club doesn't exist, but I wish it did.

I originally heard about this situation when the lovely @goldenarms posted about it on his weblog here at steemit.com, where I commented in agreement with him and disagreement with what the "activists" were doing.

The short version is that a bunch of vegans, essentially unprovoked (other than this is one of the infinitely many restaurants who serve meat), decided to congregate outside this restaurant to protest the eating of meat. It's an organized, ongoing sort of thing which seems to involve loudness and hostility.

And then I happened to catch the chef/owner talking to Joe Rogan about it.

Joe Rogan is against veganism, so it's not lost on me that this is why he's having the guy on the show. Almost like the way Bill O'Reilly might choose his battles based on whatever naturally lends itself well to the perspective he wants to get across.

But it doesn't change the fact that this chef seems like a really nice guy and is completely in the right, and that these so called "activists" are being obnoxious af and not making the world better or even helping their own cause.

Having free speech and the right to assemble and all that doesn't mean that you can do it in all conceivable ways without violating general standards of politeness and decency.

If they really want to protest in this way, they could at least march thru the streets. It's a little twist that's better in all possible ways. They'll be seen by more people, without randomly victimizing one restaurant owner.

I speculate that what's going on in their psyche is that they actually want to victimize someone. Making life less pleasant for a restaurant owner (while I doubt they're consciously aware of it) is actually their goal. Whether or not it's making things better for the animals. They feel victimized, and so they want to victimize someone.

The anarchic nerd in me is jumping out of my chair like IT'S THE SIDEWALKS ,, PRIVATIZE TEH SIDEWALKS. And true, you should. But even short of that, state police (it is their sidewalk after all, and they'd probably be quick to break up a congregation of homeless people yelling at customers) should feel correct about it if they quell these people.


Then there's this other segment where I guess a different vegan group has this girl stand up in front of the restaurant and start talking about her friend who was abused (and it turns out the friend is a chicken):

This seems completely less bad than the thing in Toronto, assuming they just do it once and then move on to another restaurant. It's at least kind of like entertaining and almost theatrical.

But it's cringey and, imo, a bad sort of activism in its own right.

I'm vegan myself, and if I had to briefly explain why, it's because I don't think it's right to cause pain or suffering where you can avoid doing so. But it doesn't mean that aggression against animals and aggression against people are exactly the same.

If you have a chance to hit a squirrel or hit a human with your car, I'd actually consider it kind of insane if you said there was no difference.

So to talk about "your friend" being abused, I get it in the sense of like you want to get people to empathize with the chicken. But it's also kind of trollish and manipulative. You're deliberately trying to imply that you're talking about a person, as a tactic to get their attention and lead their emotions somewhere. And I don't think it really works like that, that you can "trick" people into empathizing.

So there's probably some blowback, where you just polarize more people away.

And at one point she says the word 'murder' which I think literally is defined as a legal thing related to the killing of a person. So that would be maybe my most specific problem with the performance. (Just say 'kill'.)

It's like she wants to be cute and be like "oh I never actually said it was a person!", but nah.. ya kinda did 😃

At the same time, Rogan kind of shows his hand here.

It starts to be clear that he's looking to generally put down veganism. (I like that the chef, on the other hand, doesn't really bite, and he seems only concerned with the disturbance aspect.)

The "the animals eat meat tho" argument that Rogan gets into is just really bad. (Plus it's a tangent and off topic. Remember, you're pretending to only be concerned with the way they're protesting, not with how much sense their underlying cause makes.)

There's always the 3 or 4 really dumb arguments that some people make. (Probably any time you have some idea or philosophy or whatever that you're into, you hear those few really terrible arguments repeated. And this is one of them for veganism, that other animals eating meat is suggestive of what we should be doing.)

Of course the rebuttal is that chickens do lots of things that we don't mimic or take social cues from. Are you saying you're a chicken, Joe? Nobody is trying to bring veganism to the chickens.

It's just really dumb and meatheaded.


But yes,

these protesters are obnoxious.

I'm often quick to argue that the "pushy vegan" stereotype is something that sensitive meat eaters imagine more than it's really out there.

And of course it's an observation bias sort of thing where the loudest and most obnoxious are the ones you notice. But still, apparently it's out there!

I'd really love these people in Toronto to quit it. They're making the world worse for the animals, not better. The only point to what they're doing is feeding their own desire to make a stink or make a victim out of someone.

Something like 6% of people are vegan, up from 2%, or something like that. It's growing fast. We have all the evidence and arguments on our side. You don't have to be disorderly and a troll to people. That's for you, not for veganism or for the animals.

Sort:  

I've always wondered why you're so comfortable writing about controversial and complicated topics. At first I realized it was because you had such a knowledge of them that you're really confident about what you're driving at and what your conclusions are, but now reading this I understand its not just that, its simply that you're always able to tame your conclusions with a remarkable amount of objectivity.

And that just lends so much awesome eclat to your writing style! + like I always say your incisive humor is off the chats. Lol. (For every philosophy there really are those three or four dumb arguments against them. And that example and rebuttal up there is an epic one.)

I'm working my way up to being a Vegan, cos I really think its an upgrade for a human being, but I will definitely NOT be protested into doing it.

Cheers, bro,
Ras.

I really appreciate your compliments!!!

Objectivity is always what I'm after. It's a subtle thing, because hopefully what beliefs and ideas you have will be in line with what's objectively true. But I think objectivity needs to be the driver, and your conclusions/beliefs need to be the caboose.

And when it's the other way around... you can accidentally be correct, but you'll always feel kind of threatened and uptight about it.

Whereas when you're just looking at it for what it is, as best you can, you can reach a point of calmness and confidence. It's kind of a paradox where being willing to be wrong is the best way to feel right.

So I like trying to look at things from the ground up, rather than like have a specific "message" or overarching idea that I want to get across.

cheers!

Objectivity is always what I'm after. It's a subtle thing, because hopefully what beliefs and ideas you have will be in line with what's objectively true. But I think objectivity needs to be the driver, and your conclusions/beliefs need to be the caboose.

Exactly! I absolutely agree with everything here. Honestly I cant compliment this enough so I'm not even going to start. It's amazing how everytime i read you I just nod my head in affirmation!

If you have a chance to hit a squirrel or hit a human with your car, I'd actually consider it kind of insane if you said there was no difference.

I'm so glad about that...

Unfortunately there are a few "loud" ones that seem to at least claim there is no difference. But I don't actually buy it, unless of course they actually are psychopaths. I doubt many wouldn't prefer if forced, to watch a chicken get it's head cut off, than watching a person suffer the same fate.

Full disclosure, I do still eat meat. Although I have been trying to move towards a more plant-based diet. Who knows, Maybe in some months/years I may be off the meat.

Although I don't know if I would ever stop eating eggs. I would like to get my own chickens to insure their well treatment, but just can't see the harm in eating an unfertilized egg. It's almost like that's what they were meant for. Other wise the chickens will just eat their own eggs, nothing wrong with that either.

I don't drink dairy but, I do eat cheese. I keep wanting to stop for like a month and see if my body feels better without it. I'm sure that it would, being that I'm allergic to dairy. I just love that cheese way to much. They don't really have to much of that fancy non-dairy cheeses her in New Zealand yet, but it's slowly coming. Just can't afford it :(

My personal thoughts on these sort of issues of consensus are; it's always best to follow your own consensus, and probably best not to force it on another.

But if the main issue is shutting down/protesting factory slaughter houses, and obvious miss- treatment of animals, I'm very much on board. As long as everyone acknowledges that killing people is not the same as the animals.

I'm assuming that you are supplementing b-12? That's the only negative I know of with veganism, and luckily easily remedied.

Right, I'm supplementing B12. (I mean sometimes I forget for a little while and I'm like "oh right", but they're up their in the cabinet haha.)

It's my understanding that B12 is found in the dirt. Some people will use lack of B12 as suggesting that a vegan diet isn't natural. But I think how it works is historically, gathering fruits and vegetables, you'd inevitably eat some dirt. (Nowadays it all gets scrubbed down.)

I'm so glad about that...

Unfortunately there are a few "loud" ones that seem to at least claim there is no difference. But I don't actually buy it, unless of course they actually are psychopaths. I doubt many wouldn't prefer if forced, to watch a chicken get it's head cut off, than watching a person suffer the same fate.

Ya, it's like..

If they think they'd be fine with me dying as quickly as a chicken, I'm not going to want to be their friend, lol. Even if it won't ever get to the point of them needing to choose, they probably won't treat me and others as well as they could be.

I've seen an "anti-human" attitude inside of veganism before. Even from otherwise great ones, like Gary Yourofsky. He's like, 99.99% of the time amazing and love what he says. But then he also believes 'humans are a virus to the planet and should be extinct' (or something along those lines -- I doubt he'd object to that summary).

It's always weird to me, like huh? Seems like self-hating basically. Humans are mistreating the planet in a lot of ways, but there's no reason we can't learn to be better. With our higher intellect we could become the best thing for the planet, whenever we sort things out correctly. We're kind of in our infancy anyways, in terms of having technology that could be bad for the planet but not a lot of time to figure out wtf we're doing with it yet. Narrow sliver of time.

Loading...

I don't drink dairy but, I do eat cheese. I keep wanting to stop for like a month and see if my body feels better without it. I'm sure that it would, being that I'm allergic to dairy. I just love that cheese way to much. They don't really have to much of that fancy non-dairy cheeses her in New Zealand yet, but it's slowly coming. Just can't afford it :(

And ya, I'm really confident that your body would be better off without dairy.

If you're only eating cheese tho... you probably aren't eating a bunch anyways and might not be really noticeable.

I think the worst is when people guzzle lots of dairy milk. That'll add up fast. Slice of cheese here and there seems different.

I enjoy the non-dairy cheeses, but tbh you don't get quite all the way there. It depends on the use case, I think. Like melted on a burger can be good, and I can make a bomb grilled cheez sandwich. Sometimes tho when I look at a pizza and I see that bubbly crusty crispy cheese.. it's like, ya I can't really have that pizza experience haha

I've seen some half decent looking mozzarella type non-dairy(I think Vegan maybe?) cheese substitute that looked half decent on a pizza back in the states, but I think it was like $15 for a tiny little bit of it. But even they it was only "half" decent, and way outside of my meager pay rate. :P

haha, ya there definitely is decent "pizza cheese", the taste is good and it can be melty and nice. Just those crispy bubbles:

I feel like that only happens with dairy, lol.

vegan pizzas, you want to add some veggies or mock meats to make it more exciting.

But ya, some good options out there. It's usually like $3.99-$5.99 for the bag of shredded slices.. 8 ounces or whatever amount. Probably will continue to come down over time. (Would be cheaper if they received the same subsidies that the dairy industry gets, lol.)

I love the Joe Rogan podcast. Probably one of my favorite podcasts, but I think he became anti-vegan bc the popular youtuber Vegan Gains (and his fans) started attacking him.

I wonder why the Kale sign set these guys off. Far better targets to protest. The protestors should focus all their energy on the farms where animals are crammed with crappy living conditions. Typically the smaller outfits will kill animals more humanely.

The key for Veganism to grow is to find a way to get the cost down for vegan food that can be easily eaten on the go with little effort (I know that Veganism is cheaper if you have the time to prepare food daily, but most people don't). It's getting better.

But as for eating healthy, the Ketosis people have way more options right now and there's more companies providing more types of food right now. I see these people as the people the Vegans should focus on converting rather than attacking bc they at least care for their health.

The vegan options are growing and getting cheaper, but it has a way to go.

I love the Joe Rogan podcast. Probably one of my favorite podcasts, but I think he became anti-vegan bc the popular youtuber Vegan Gains (and his fans) started attacking him.

Oh wow. I used to listen to Richard (Vegan Gains) but mostly grew tired of him. Listening to him rant about the hypocrisies of certain people can be entertaining. Eventually he dipped into attacking other vegans (and the types of vegan diets they were advocating), based on interpersonal drama, and it sort of crippled his integrity for me. He'd say things that obviously weren't making sense, like a manipulative attempt to lead his viewers to feeling certain ways about someone. So that was the end of him in my mind.

And it became harder to enjoy the stuff about meat eaters when you realize he's not committed to presenting it fairly.

He's from Toronto I think. Wonder if he's been at the protests.

(And it just goes to show that attacking people isn't "activism". Now someone with a wide audience is telling people not to be vegan, when maybe he wouldn't have otherwise.)

I wonder why the Kale sign set these guys off. Far better targets to protest. The protestors should focus all their energy on the farms where animals are crammed with crappy living conditions. Typically the smaller outfits will kill animals more humanely.

Yup! If they succeeded at hurting this restaurant, it just makes things worse for animals.

The key for Veganism to grow is to find a way to get the cost down for vegan food that can be easily eaten on the go with little effort (I know that Veganism is cheaper if you have the time to prepare food daily, but most people don't). It's getting better.

Definitely. If there was a vegan version of McDonald's, a lot of people would eat there, whether or not they're even 100% vegan. It would immediately be more attainable.

I wish a lot of so-called activists would be more focused on building the things that actually help people, rather than on yelling at people.

But as for eating healthy, the Ketosis people have way more options right now and there's more companies providing more types of food right now. I see these people as the people the Vegans should focus on converting rather than attacking bc they at least care for their health.

Hmm. It could be a 2 way street, as far as attacking goes. You shouldn't attack in a personal sense (or try to ruin their business etc), but criticizing the diet and why you think it's wrong and all that is fair game and a good thing imo, and I'm sure the Ketos do it to veganism too.

But ya, they seem kind of similar. Like an AnCap vs AnCom thing, both outside the mainstream and more internally consistent.. and so even tho they're kind of diametrically opposed to each other, in a way it's similar in the sense that they both seem to be looking for a principled or "right" way to do it, and they're probably more likely to flip than someone who eats standard is to start opening up the rabbit holes.

Having free speech and the right to assemble and all that doesn't mean that you can do it in all conceivable ways without violating general standards of politeness and decency.

Well said.

I am not against protesting per say it just doesn’t make sense what respect we are earning if we are being aggressive. You know, the whole non-aggression principle, lol.

I’m curious, have you watched this clip from Rogan yet?

Great clip. Enjoyed it.

Plants are amazing.

I never agree tho that plant consciousness poses any sort of problem for veganism.

Suppose it's true and we know for sure that they have consciousness and awareness of being eaten and all that as Rogan says. It doesn't mean their experience with this process is the same as an animal's.

So to say they feel "pain" almost seems like a bastardization of the term. We may know they have some chemical process going on, but we don't really know how this feels to them. The fact that they can be aware of being eaten (if what Rogan says is accurate) would suggest that it isn't a traumatic experience for them. (When you eat a squirrel he'll black out or become unresponsive before he realizes "I'm being eaten".)

It could be like plants are complimentary to animal life. They energize us, and in turn we defecate their seeds and plant more trees etc. It's mutually beneficial. Being consumed is an aspect of their survival. Whereas with animals, not really. Animals always want to not be consumed. So it seems intuitive to me that plants would have a different experience as it relates to being killed and eaten than an animal would, and that they'd evolve in a way where it feels fine or good rather than horrible.

I think basically everyone would agree that running over a chipmunk with your lawn mower feels completely different than running over a dandelion. So I'm not willing to assume it's like a "bias" of ours, I think it's a better guess that our instincts are probably sorting it out correctly.

And also I want to add:

I don't think it would be a "big problem for veganism" anyways, no matter what the plants feel.

You'd just need to redefine veganism to include not harming plants.

(In my mind the jury is still out and I wayyy lean against the idea that killing plants causes harm. But, if it did, okay. It just means that now this too would not be vegan.)

And so we'd need to eat fruit. (The fruits of the plant rather than the plant.)

There are already people who eat mostly or entirely fruit. I don't think it's because of any stance against killing plants, but just because they consider it the best form of food.

Vegans are anti-suffering more than we're attached to the idea of eating lettuce...

So the idea that plant consciousness would muddy all the waters and now eating meat must be fine... I think is just convenient to Joe Rogan and people like him. But the real takeaway would be that we shouldn't be eating plants and eat fruit instead.

Vegans are anti-suffering more than we're attached to the idea of eating lettuce.

That is helpful. Rigidity can cause so many problems when the facts start to detoriate what we believe.

Always appreciate your critical thinking!

Thanks! Thanks for the question!

Great answer.

I’m personally not vegan - not yet anyway - but I do appreciate the philosophy.

Damn this is genius answer.

😉

I am not a vegan but I do not eat meat that often; moreover because most people eat meat way too often. You really do not need to eat meat every day or every second/third day - every fourth day is way better. And if you choose to eat meat then it should be regional and not from the other side of the world. Organic would be good too; You should not support the "bad meat industry/mass production", eg. fast food restaurants often use/support (KFC, McDonald's,...).
However, of course you cannot generalize it but there is one thing you can generalize haha: vegetables > meat (actually than everything else). Fruits r important too etc.
You simply must not eat meat every single day... many people do not know that or do not want to know.


If you have a chance to hit a squirrel or hit a human with your car, I'd actually consider it kind of insane if you said there was no difference.

Naturally a human and an animal is not the same. There are many factors you have to keep in mind but "generally" it is not the same; moreover because humans have a bigger brain and are more intelligent (at least some of us have a working brain). :D

Nice article again!

Great point! Ya, eating meat every day the way most in the West do (multiple times each day really, as the cornerstone of each meal for some people) is really a extreme thing.

People will say eating meat is natural, and even if that's so, eating it in abundance is a totally new thing.

There's a difference between picking off a boar once a month, or eating a squirrel when you're starving.. vs meat being available to you all the time and constantly eating it. (I doubt we were designed to do that.)

So eating meat as you do, here and there rather than as the first assumption or the cornerstone of your diet, is probably much more in tune with the "natural ancestral diet" that people try to think they're exercising when they go to McDonalds.

Eating higher quality meat more rarely would at least reduce the need for factory farming and the most disgusting stuff.

Naturally a human and an animal is not the same. There are many factors you have to keep in mind but "generally" it is not the same; moreover because humans have a bigger brain and are more intelligent (at least some of us have a working brain). :D

Ya, like even if it's a bias I'm fine with the idea of having a pro-human bias lol. I wouldn't want to remove that lol. I'm here as a human, not as a squirrel. I don't want to hurt the squirrel at all but I'll look out for the people first, that's just how it works.

Exactly. Way too much meat on their diet. It is not only unhealthy, it is not ecofriendly too.

These kind of people are probably pretty stupid, at least naive/ignorant, or simply unaware. You do not need to eat meat; you survive without it too haha. There are just some nutrients which are easier to get/"absorb/ingest" if you eat meat, but I do not want to go more into detail, right now.
Imo, most people presumably simply have not ever thought about that.

I absolutely agree with you.
Btw. think about the tons of meat (okay, generally food) what have to be thrown away everyday because we do not need it (it is too much - terrible overproduction).

I am a very active person. I love exercising and doing sports - especially with friends, it is fun (of course on some days you just want to chillax haha). And I know quite a lot about nutrition and all that stuff; what you need, how much and so on.
However, I eat red meat only once every two weeks; chicken twice a week and fish once a week. And I always try to eat regional and good quality meat - be ecofriendly etc. haha. Cornerstone of my diet definitely is vegetables, cereal, fruits etc.
Mc Donald's (and fast food in general) is not the best decision haha.

True, mass production is not good, moreover concerning meat.

Haha, yes, absolutely. I do not want to hurt the cute squirrel either; but if I drive over a person I might get into trouble haha, I mean, the odds are not that perfect. So, concerning this case I have to admit that I am biased indeed haha. ;D

The "absorb/ingest" thing is interesting btw. I'm curious what you mean if you want to go on.

I have it in my head that iron or maybe related things helps absorb nutrients. (Or maybe it helps absorb vitamin C specifically? Not sure.)

I wouldn't be surprised if meat, heavy with things like iron etc, helped absorb nutrients a little better.

On a vegan diet, you really want to make sure you're eating enough, is I think the really big thing.

The idea is kind of that we live in abundance and don't need meat for that reason. So you have to make sure you're eating in abundance. If you eat only a little bit, meat probably would have had more nutrients per capita. Plant based food is much less calorie dense per capita too. So you have to make sure you're eating a larger volume of food, to have that complete diet and all the nutrients.

Loading...

Yup!! You have a sharp mind.

These kind of people are probably pretty stupid, at least naive/ignorant, or simply unaware. You do not need to eat meat; you survive without it too haha. There are just some nutrients which are easier to get/"absorb/ingest" if you eat meat, but I do not want to go more into detail, right now.
Imo, most people presumably simply have not ever thought about that.

Yup! Literally all the nutrients that are in meat, are found somewhere in plants, as far as I know. People assume there is some special thing that you aren't getting when you don't eat meat, but nope. It's just whether you want meat or plants to be the vehicle of them.

And ya, there are certain things like B12 that aren't commonly found outside of meat. It's my understanding that it comes from the dirt. So typically, like a natural diet sort of thing, you eat the fruits and veggies and don't worry about a little dirt on them. Today we're into everything being clean, so they usually don't have dirt on them when you buy them. And plus the farming procedures are bad so you probably don't want to eat the dirt unless it's a good farmer. So, I supplement. (But in a perfect world I don't think supplementing would really be necessary, you'd just eat strawberries without washing them etc)

I actually just watched this earlier tonight, considered blogging about it but lost motivation. I thought it was a super great talk and def worth the time to watch. I feel better knowing the Chef is gonna be just fine as the protests have brought him publicity you couldn't buy and now more people are going to want to go and follow him and his ventures. Glad he seem like a great dude sent too!

That's good. I was wondering how he's doing. Thought that was possible, that the publicity is working out well. I kind of want to go, especially since he said he has a vegetarian option, show some vegan support.

Maybe bark at a few protesters.

But I don't have a passport :/

I speculate that what's going on in their psyche is that they actually want to victimize someone. Making life less pleasant for a restaurant owner

I agree completely with you. When it comes to this girl and her chicken friend. We all know it’s ridiculous and it’s not even worth to talk about her. She obviously has a chicken brain. You mentioned that you are a vegan. The difference between you and these “protesters” is that you have a common sense.

hehe, ya. What sucks about the chicken thing is chickens really do feel a ton of pain from laying eggs.

As far as I understand it (feel free to fact check me), it's that they always want a "clutch", they want to have a reserve stash of eggs sitting there (for what reasons I'm not sure). And so then, even backyard chickens that people don't usually think of as "cruelty".. when you take her eggs away, you force her to go thru the painful process again, and again and again. When she's only supposed to do it every so often, and then should be eating her eggs as the balance to regain what she lost and power her thru. And it's a very stressful cycle and kind of terrible way of life for her when her eggs keep being taken. They die super young and stressed out, relative to what they could be living.

A lot of people just don't know this and would be receptive as soon as they hear it. Maybe not change their ways right away, but at least be aware of this. And so then when you see this overblown act, you kind of just get lost in the absurdity of it and laugh.

I honestly didn’t know this! I do eat meat. However, I’m against cruelty of animals. At some point it makes me sad to think about how stressful it must be for these animals. Even this stress these chickens are going through, when every single day is taken from them what they are attached to. It’s easier for me not to think about it, or not to watch it. Otherwise, I would probably become a vegan as well. As a matter of fact one of my friends is a vegan. Hewever, I don’t feel guilt eating meat, if I did, I would stop. Animals eat animals, birds eat small animals or small birds. It’s cruel, but that’s the way we were created. The nice thing about all of it is that we have a choice.

I think being conscious of your food choices is all that matters! and then it goes from there.

I actually feel like between meat, eggs, and dairy.. meat may be the least bad.

It depends what kind of meat. Factory farming of course is awful across the board.

But shooting an animal out of its natural environment is at least not stripping them of their environment and their natural way of life prior to being killed. So meat, depending how it's sourced, at least could be kind of low on the Cruelty and Suffering Index.

Perhaps it's how we were created, but there are vegetarian animals too, and presumably there are lots of humans over the millennias who weren't able to find meat and had to survive on plants for long stretches or forever. My feeling is that human nature isn't much more than to adapt, and so when it gets to the point where we have fruits and veggies (and farmed rice etc and things like that) in abundance, I think it's fair to question whether we need meat.

Eating it rarely or now and again would be one thing. But I think it would quickly be not really sustainable if most people on the planet tried to eat meat routinely. So it just doesn't feel right to me that we're "supposed" to eat meat, it would seem like we're kind of cursed with an impossible situation.

Eating it less frequently than most and from better sources seems hard to have much of a problem with tho.

cheers!

Interesting, I will have to look into this. I've not personally had chickens yet, but known a lot of people that did/do. The chickens always seemed relieved after laying an egg, hmm wonder if she was like; "Finally my meal for later it just over there."

That's pretty disheartening to think about if it's the case. I wonder if having an excess of food around changes the dynamic a bit.

I wonder if much "hard" science has been done on this. It would be interesting to observe free range chickens one group as a control and one group that had there eggs collected. I'm not sure how it would be done because I imagine that whatever "equipment" that would be needed to scan them, might cause more stress than anything else.

I only looked around a bit online, seems to be mixed review on chickens experiencing pain other than the first egg. But it would seem that by removing eggs, it does prolong the time before they go into brooding mode.

Very interesting.

Hmm, ya. I encourage you to look into it yourself, glad you're doing that. (I have that info in my mind but not sure how accurate -- personally I'm not tempted to have chickens or eat eggs anyways really, so not really inspired to get to the bottom of it. It does seem intuitive to me that there's some sort of "purpose" or process that gets thrown off by us interfering with them. Like, I doubt chickens actively need humans to be a part of their life. So that being the case, I doubt it's perfectly neutral that we become one. It would seem like there's probably some drawback.)

It looks so good to see the post, because of the way it is aware

ty, that's what I was trying for

Great post, I feel similar. big fan of JRE Podcast but I do feel sometimes he can be a bit of a meathead and obnoxious but we are who we are . cheers

ya! I'm a fan in general... veganism seems to be one of his blind spots :)

If I dug up a segment about him talking about cigarettes and the people who smoke in your face without thinking otherwise.. I'd immediately love him again.

Totally with him most of the way here too.. just that chickens argument was so bad lol. cheers!

It's a choice. It's odd that people who want freedom of speech look cross-ways at people who want freedom of food choice. I've been laughed at and nearly verbally abused over my food choices. Leave me alone people - I don't bother you when you chomp on a bone. I just leave you alone because your behavior disgusts me.

I'm not sure in nature you can see animals eating animals so it's that natural? yes it's natural in my opinion we have to have a balance of what we eat no just meat and no just vegetables, an other point of view is so simple everything in this world is live so the tomatoe you eat is live because plants are a kind of life so it's just my opinion. Regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77