Should Vegans Wear Animal Skins They Had From a Past Life?

in #vegan6 years ago

fonzi.jpg

I think wearing animal skin after you are vegan is okay to an extent, but should be avoided if financially possible. For myself wearing animal skin creates static that I try to avoid as an animal rights activist. I know I certainly would be more hesitant to speak up for the animals wearing any animal skin in fear that I would be condemned for being hypocritical. Most importantly vegans shouldn't add to the numbers of people wearing animal skin all over the world and perpetuating the normalcy of needless animal cruelty. I believe for a vegan who is still wearing animal skin; financial excuses are better than the excuse of creating more waste. Having said all this I don't believe a day-one-vegan should up and stop wearing all the animal skins they own. This is a process that should take time, and vegans should consciously have this internal dialog and come to a realization they should switch out a few regular items of their wardrobe with vegan alternatives. I have been vegan for over four years now, and have phased out all the animal skins in my life; except for my childhood baseball glove. During my time as a vegan I have systematically adopted a vegan wardrobe starting with my most used items, a wallet and belt.

I currently have a bin full of the six or so animal skin items that I owned before I was vegan. I have been inwardly debating the ethics of what to do from here. I'm weary of actually selling and profiting off the sale of any animal products but in this case my animal skins. I think I'm going to sell them all and buy some dope vegan leather shoes. Imagine how much money PETA could raise if they asked everyone to mail them in their animal skins for charity. Then of course just have interns slinging the animal skins on the internet.

Did you notice how I have avoided using the word "leather" in this post? This is because "leather" is human-made terminology for what is actually animal skin from a sentient being who has either been bred, trapped or shot, than skinned just so you can stay warm in 2018 when there are an infinite amount of other ways to cloth yourself for cold weather without hurting an innocent animal.

I wrote this post up in response to a challenge by @freegardens

https://steemit.com/vegan/@freegardens/50-steem-cents-contest-vegans-what-do-you-think-about-this-1-wearing-animal-skin-from-before-you-were-vegan

Sort:  

Great post @fruitdaddy, I am going to do up a reply to this too, I'll do my one on Dtube though as I am writing so many posts at the moment and I just dont have enough hours in the day!

This was something I struggled with as well and have been doing something similar to what you have done. Being aware of the items I purchase from now on, but struggling with what to do with the ones I purchased before I was vegan. I am slowly phasing out my clothes and shoes, but still have a few I have had a hard time letting go of. Even though I have had a hard time letting go of them, I have an equally difficult time wearing them knowing that they are ‘animal skins’. Great article, and something I have been thinking about lately as well.

I could not agree with you more. I did ditch all my non vegan food over night but the clothes and makeup have been systematicly replaced over time to leave room for more vegan friendly options.

I agree that you can be frown upon if you are vegan and still wear your old animal skin garnments but it's also about not wasting the earths resources.
This is a great post that every new vegan should read :)

Being a vegan is already hard, plus not wearing animal clothes can be a big challenge~ Go you!

It's not "hard" at all. One bite for us, is one whole life for them.

It's true that vegans wearing skin can be seen as being hypocritical, but I don't think that you should worry about what someone thinks of you. You know who you are and what you do, no matter other's opinions. Of course you don't have to wear these items when you go on a vegan rally LOL.

I would never buy an animal skin product (or makeup tested on animals) ever again, however I don't like to waste things that I already have, because it doesn't do the poor animal any justice IMO. Oh well, you saw my video lol...

Thanks for sharing your thoughts!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 68794.19
ETH 3567.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.23