Stranger things: Vegetarian Gambas, no really!! (Meat Free)

in #vegan7 years ago (edited)

Seeing Is Believing


This product is non-vegan due to the inclusion of a dairy product (milk) and this was noted by @mermaid, thank you.

IMG_1427.PNG

This has to be the strangest, most alien piece of food that I have ever seen. They look like conventional Gambas caught from our oceans, they even smell like Gambas along with a sweet prawn like taste. The texture of the Gambas are exactly as one would expect from a giant prawn, they've really nailed it. De Vegetarische Slager have blown my mind with this product and to know that this is completely meat free, makes the experience even better. Let's take a run through the photos, and like the header says, 'seeing is believing."

IMG_1421.PNG

Frozen

IMG_1423.PNG

Into the pan

IMG_1424.PNG

IMG_1425.PNG


Served with French soup

I would say that I picked the wrong dish to accompany these Gambas, as they would've gone better with a salad, or possibly stir fry noodles, but living is learning. I'm still in awe of this meat substitute range offered by the geniuses as De Vegetarische Slager and I've included a photo of one of the creators himself Jaap Korteweg, who'd actually started the company back in 2010 with an entrepreneur called Niko Koffeman, so these guys were real visionaries and look where the company is today. The world is changing and that's food for thought?

IMG_1429.PNG

One of the Geniuses.

IMG_1422.PNG

Thanks for taking the time to view this post.


FullSizeRender-1.jpg.jpeg

Sort:  

interesting food!

Woow it looks delicious!!! Althaugh I try to stay away from "fake meat", too, because I don't think they are healthy when I check the ingredients, sometimes it's good to cheat on my wholefood diet with meals like this :) Thanks for sharing!!

Yum :)

It looks like prawns! Looks yummy!

Nice food

Oh i didn't know 'de vegetarische slager' got this, I always found this at the toko (:
Oh edit: did you look at the website? It says there is milk inside, so it isn't vegan ):

Thanks @mermaid, I'm a transitioning vegan, so I've still got a lot of learning to do and reading the back of the packet should be a priority, but it was over looked and my Dutch isn't that great, better attention to detail next time. I think that De Vegetarische Slager only have a couple of vegan products, but I'll carry out some more research on that. I'll make a note on the top of the article stating that this product is non vegan due to the milk ingredient, kindly pointed out by your good self. Thank you @mermaid for your eagle eye and looking into it further Sharing is learning.

At the original dutch website you can look at the products and select the vegan option, hopefully that helps ^^

It does @mermaid, thank you very much indeed. :-)

You're welcome ^^

Looks like chicken, I would actually be willing to try, is it tasty?

Very tasty @pllo3llo, you'd love it.

Quite strange, but they look delicious. Hope you enjoy eating them.

Yh i agree with you @steveuk, some times food end up tasting quite good and delicious than they appear physically....#tastingisbelieving...

Seriously strange @steveuk, I still can't believe it.

Lol... i will rather say tasting is believing @flatrider

You're not wrong there @greatman4eva.

I like this like food!! your photo is good:)

Thank you so much @hyoree.

Oh weird. I haven't seen this yet. I wonder if its available in the States yet.

I have no idea @vegetarianbaker, but I'm sure it is if you look hard enough.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84