Some more thoughts about veganism

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians,

This entry is part of a challenge by @freegardens, in which he asks the question: do you think that it's ethical to wear animal skin from BEFORE you became vegan?

This is my response:


What do you think? I would love to read your opinion in the comments section =)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Banner.jpg

Sort:  

Wow where in Panama do you live? I disagree with the leather jacket but agree with most of the theory that you talked about. In my opinion the leather jacket is too big of a flag to fly in this world where it normalizes the leather industry. Old leather shoes or a belt is a bit more discreet than a jacket. I'm not comfortable as an animal rights activist wearing any form of leather, but I still wear a few old leather items when I need to piece together an outfit. Some day I will treat myself and replace the last few items I have. As a man I think getting a vegan wallet was the most important for me, but only because its an item I use everyday.

Thanks for your comment @fruitdaddy =). I live in Bocas del Toro, in the Caribbean. Are you in Panama too?

Thinking about what you said about normalizing the leather industry. I have noticed how many good fake leather jackets are on the market now. Last time I was in London, everyone had one of those. You can barely see the difference anymore (I have a trained eye for these things lol), but I think it's great that people choose the synthetic stuff now, even if it's mainly cost related. The less demand there is for real leather, the more it will cost because it becomes a luxury item, and the less people will be able to buy it, etc....at least that's what I'm hoping.

Oh that is crazy. I'm thinking of moving to Puerto Viejo which is right next to you but in Costa Rica. How does the durian grow in Bocos del Toro?

Ah how cool! I was there once, but prefer Bocas. It's cheaper and the beaches are nicer in my opinion, but I only spent 2 days in Puerto Viejo. Durian doesn't grow here (or at least I haven't seen it). If it does it's not popular.

I think any products we had before being a vegan it's ok to wear out and use properly. The animal has already died, so it's better to make the most out of its sacrifice. For people who don't feel comfortable, I think they should give away these clothes to thrift stores, or less fortunate. However I also agree with @fruitdaddy in that we should NOT promote it. It's very common to wear plastic leather now anyway, most people wouldn't know the difference. Personally though, I don;t like the smell of leather or the feel of it so I never owned any leather products with exception to shoes and such. Great video 😊. Theres so many taboos with veganism, so many people are almost too extreme imo, which can be off putting for the potential new vegans out there!

I totally agree with you, especially with some vegans being too extreme. That's why I don't like to call myself vegan, because I'm afraid that I'm not 100% fitting into that box. I prefer "cruelty free" =)

DTube is always shit for me, I can't really uopload nor view it often 😂 Some people say it works very well when you are in Europe.

Too bad this is one those days, it won't load for me

I bet you discussed something very interesting tho

I have been trying to post there aswell, and I gave up because I wasn't able to upload anything!

oh no, sorry! Maybe it was just a bad day....hopefully it will work today

Pretty interesting perspective! Even though I'm not a vegan after I did a Vipassana retreat, my animal food intake has completely changed. Now, I am much more moderate when it comes to what I eat and how much I eat.

I didn't know about Vipassana (I had to google it!), but seems interesting! It says it teaches you to see things as they really are, so that fits perfectly with the vegan lifestyle =). Thank you for visiting my blog!

Well said Eve. I like the focus of considering the suffering in this moment as a factor in your choice. I second that...

Great reply, I think myself that it would be a waste to throw it away.

I love the line... No child, that was when mommy was a stupid bitch... LOL cracked me up. I can feel like that a lot too.

You could paint "VEGAN" on that leather jacket to balance karma when wearing it ;)

LOL that's actually and awesome idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71153.91
ETH 3862.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51