Meat lover becoming a vegan for one week

in #vegan8 years ago

As you can read in my title, i am a meat lover. I eat meat all the time, i love it and i can't imagine my life without it. Some of my friends are vegan and i wanted to understand their motivation behind it. I don't think that it is true when they say, that they don't like the taste of meat. I don't think you can actually hate its' taste. There has to be something more about it than the taste and i wanted to find out what it is. Do you feel different when you eat only organic food? Do you have more energy? Do you miss your normal eating habits?
There is not that many products that you can eat and it is not easy to find a vegan shop in Prague or even a vegan restaurant. You have to do the cooking mostly by yourself and that was my first struggle. I don't really enjoy cooking, i think it is a waste of time and i prefer to do other activities. I am not sure if the infrastucture of vegan shops and restaurant is better in other countries, but it seemed pretty difficult for Czech person to be a vegan. You can cook a lot of different dishes as a vegan and even the substitutes like tofu or soya milk taste very good. Eventhough i eat meat two times every day at least, i wasn't missing meat products that much, which was really surprising for me. Substitutes did a good job in this and more than meat products i was missing honey, normal milk and especially cheese and eggs. The taste of the substitutes for cheese was just weird and it didn't really feel like the real cheese.
After i finished my week i felt pretty much the same. The difference i spotted was that i felt like i have lost some weight. I really felt skinnier and i can say that it was thanks to the vegan week, because after only one day of normal eating i felt a bit fatter again. It seemed to me that i have less energy. I can't really tell if it was only because of the vegan week or there were another external factors, but that was another thing I realized. The biggest struggle i always had were my friends. I was the only one who couldn't eat almost anything in the restaurant, only like 2 dishes. In the shop everyone had a whole shop to choose from while i only had like 2 rows of my organic food. It is really difficult to stay vegan nowadays because of the lack of the vegan infastructure. The biggest difference between me now and me two weeks ago is in my view of food. I only thought about it as a food, i didn't really care where it came from, which animal had to die in order for me to eat it, how much harm did it create to the envorinment and if it is ethical to eat animals and their products only to satisfy our hunger while we can eat substitutes that can serve us the same purpose. I am not saying i don't eat meat now, but i am trying to reduce it. I don't eat it twice a day and i think a lot more about the story of the food. I feel sorry for the animals that had to die and i really think that if we eat as much meat as we do now, there has to be some consequences in the future. I am trying to look for organic alternatives if i can and eat more of these. I don't think it is doable for the society to stop eating meat, but i believe that if we all think about it more and also about the proccess that leads to the meat in the shop, more and more people might reduce their meat products consumption. And i think that is also the main result of this week for me, reduce the meat products as much as i can and eat meat less than i do now.

Sort:  

Good vegan restaurants in Prague are Loving Hut and especially Maitrea. Also Dhaba Beas tastes great, even though not fully vegan.

Congratulations @erocuna! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @erocuna! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68530.21
ETH 2695.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72