I confess… I am a Chegan

in #vegan6 years ago

fruit-3048001_1920.jpg

I confess
I ate that piece chocolate
I bought those noodles I knew contained egg
My name is Ryan and I am a chegan.

A Chegan is a slang term used to describe a cheating vegan-A person who eats vegan most of the time but deliberately eats something non-vegan now and again. most Chegan still abstain from any source of meat but might give in to something with dairy and egg in to like chocolate or pasta.

I first heard this term to describe Jared Leto in an interview. Back then I was in my early days of being a vegan. Quieting meat came easy, a piece of chicken three years ago was the last piece of meat I ate or ever will eat again. The hard part for me has not so much abstaining from animal products. The hard part was constantly taking the time to check in a product contained any animal product. It’s a cop-out I know because there are apps like happy cow that makes it somewhat easier to shop at stores by being able to scan a bar code. There are also lists on-line and videos on you tube all easy to access, all easy to share, all easy to ignore.

And maybe it’s that I just didn’t want to find out what product contain milk or egg or… animal parts unknown… because that would mean I would have to abandon some of the foods I loved to eat. It’s still a poor excuse I know. Still there is hope. I eat about 95% vegan now.

I love the looks of disbelief I get from people when they find out I do not eat meat.- Still I feel guilty for it, the occasional slip but I am headed in the right direction. I am not perfect,far from it, but I am on the right path.

Image credit - moigram/pixabay

Sort:  

No one is perfect. You're on the right path so no worries. Keep at it. :)

Thanks :) it get better everyday

Thanks for the insight on this. I also feel intuitively quitting meat will not be that hard. It's the cheese/eggs/milk I know will be difficult. "Chegan" is a funny word and I like that it helps lighten the offense so one doesn't beat oneself up about it. Yay for levity! We don't need to make ourselves feel worse about things in life than we already do, right?

your right, in our society, and depending on where you live, it can be difficult to find pure Vegan foods. also the food industry makes it difficult to understand just how how many animal products are in the foods we eat everyday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26