Why I've Started Going Vegan...

in #vegan7 years ago

I know that most people decide to go vegan because of the humanitarian, and animal rights, aspect of it. While there is certainly nothing incorrect with that reasoning, it isn't the reason why I have started to go vegan. I do want to make it clear that there is absolutely nothing wrong with doing this, and this side of the reasoning makes extremely sound arguments of how animals should be treated.

My reasoning was more of self-discovery and pushing my body to new limits. I've always been pretty big on health and wellness and cooking.

On the health and wellness aspect, I love pushing my body to see what I can achieve with it, and what the outcome of the experiment is. Like a scientist testing a new hypothesis, and trying to debunk the inconsistencies in other theories.

On the cooking aspect, it has allowed me to open my mind to new creativities. I think the interesting thing here is that the flavor profiles virtually have not changed a bit. I mean when you really think about it, you are still applying the same spices with just a substitute for the meat.

But what do I mean by I have started going vegan? I have started down that path, but not fully committed, because I absolutely love sweets and have not yet found many dessert places where I live that are fully vegan. I am experimenting with various recipes, which I'll be sure to share when they're completed!

I would love to hear your reasons for going vegan, and what challenges you personally felt when making the transition. Comment below and let's start the conversations!

Sort:  

Some challenges that I faced were ordering food at restaurants. I didn't want to been seen as picky but most places are very accommodating.

My wife and I went Vegan for about 2 months. It really showed me the art of cooking and how much I liked it. It also opened up my taste buds. Now I am back to eating meat I still have some Vegan/Vegetarian meals too because I have found some very good ones. It is just a great way to learn flavors and find things you really like that you would have never tried otherwise.

That's great that it opened you up to new flavors @coasion! What made you decide to go back to meats?

The amount of work making all of the meals. We are a young family of five with one special needs child. Anything that saves us time helps. There are also quite a few vitamins that are not found in a plant only diet.

welcome to steemit! awesome dapperdadclub

Welcome to steemit. @dapperdadclub
i hope your enjoy this community.
following you now. :D

Thanks for the welcome! Followed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29