You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Veganism is the solution

in #vegan7 years ago (edited)

Do you have sources for the information just within the first part of that meme image? I am finding information directly crossing off the first big thing on that list which negates reading the rest of it. I wish when people made meme images, they would cite sources or provide full information instead of statements, but I guess that is what makes them memes. This is what I have found:

"Fossil fuel-based energy is responsible for about 80% of total greenhouse gasemissions as compared to about 6% from animal agriculture"

World GHG Emissions Flow Chart can be seen here http://www.wri.org/resources/charts-graphs/us-greenhouse-gas-emissions-flow-chart

"Animal agriculture and meat consumption are significant contributors to global warming, but far less so than fossil fuel combustion. Moreover, fossil fuels are an even bigger contributor to the problem in developed countries, which use more energy and have increased livestock production efficiency"
http://www.ncfar.org/MITLOEHNER_091911.pdf

Neither of the sources I read discount that eating animals and livestock use causes issues, but the statement that it is the "leading cause" is so damning. It reminds me of all those D.A.R.E. programs in school that existed but they show don't work. I believe part of that was because they would exaggerate things about the drugs, so when the kids found the reality of them, they could no longer trust D.A.R.E. as a source for information. I do not wish this to happen with vegan stuff more so than it already is, the extreme fear tactic is not a positive way (I won't say it doesn't work sometimes, but it never works long term).

Sort:  

Carbon Monoxide from cows 51%.

On top of only being 18-19% from the source you linked as well as another I found, I keep not seeing specific numbers on cows, but more on livestock. Also, not all cows that are livestock, and not all livestock itself , are being raised just to be eaten. I want to believe.

You should check out this discussion between people on this topic, a good debate that I feel brings out excellent points about that types of gas livestock would have versus a vehicle http://message.snopes.com/showthread.php?t=77718

I wish someone would just the update the image, because it is not like the information could not be presented in a way that is fun and informative but also be true.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58300.22
ETH 2638.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44