UNCOVERING THE VITAMIN B12 MYTHS part 1: Mushrooms: the flesh of the Gods ๐Ÿ„

in #vegan โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Whilst I was transitioning from vegetarianism to veganism, eggs were the last thing I gave up because of the B12 controversy, I know there are supplements and fortified foods but i'm also skeptical about some of these products as I prefer to eat as naturally as possible.

One day in Autumn last year I just stopped eating eggs for a week and my body started feeling really depleted and I got this intense craving for mushrooms. The body is extremely complex and I do not underestimate its power and natural instinct is what keeps us alive and functioning.

mushroom.png

I went to the local vegetable co-operative and brought a massive bag of chestnut mushrooms, I didn't wipe off much of the dirt, fried them up and made a mushroom sandwich. These mushrooms where so tasty, I kept saying over and over in my mind 'I swear I can taste the B12 in these', I know I ate some dirt, and I read somewhere eating dirt is how our primitive selves would have been consuming B12 on a regular basis, and this is why modern man is often deficient due to our sterilized environments. Despite all this I swear the mushrooms where talking to me, telling me that there was B12 in their flesh, if you ever tried magic mushrooms you will agree that mushroom do speak to people and i'm not crazy!

I had to ask Google, I mean I'd been conditioned by the information on the internet to believe that it is only ever present in animal products but there were links to pages telling me studies have shown there is B12 in mushrooms, yes they are only small doses 2-4% of the RDI
but that doesn't mean we shouldn't eat them as a viable source, primitive man would have been gathering as many as possible and drying them to store for later.

IMG_20180215_232214.png

Our bodies store greater amounts of vitamin B12 than they do for any other vitamins; an estimated 2000 โ€“ 4000 ยตg, the majority of which is found in the liver. Theoretically speaking, the body could function on a minimum provision of 1 ยตg per day for up to 10 years. This is one reason why the serious effects of a vitamin B12 deficiency can take several years to become apparent. *

In some respects I disagree with this statement because like I mentioned before I can sense when I need more B12 in my system but according to this there is no way I have a deficiency, I have eaten animal based products for almost 30 years of my life, so I must have enough B12 stored! Also if you are vegan and regularly consuming fortified foods you should theoretically have enough B12 stores to last you several years. The RDA of B12 is 2.4ยตg Because of this I don't think it's necessary to be taking 1000ยตg supplement tablets on a daily basis, but we should regularly be topping up in small doses as standard practice. However you will need to take supplements temporarily if you have a diagnosed deficiency. Deficiencies are caused by multiple factors not just by what we choose to consume but occur according to our lifestyle choices, for instance,

Humans living in modern industrialized nations typically ingest multiple courses of oral antibiotics over a lifetime, reducing or eliminating the population of B12-producing bacteria residing in the small intestine. All of our prehistoric ancestors would have been breast fed and probably kissed often, which transmits flora from one generation to another, and this transmission would not have been interrupted by antibiotic treatments. **

mushroomdish.jpg

It is a primal instinct to keep our B12 levels topped up but our primal selves probably didn't have to give it much thought due to their inter-connectivity with nature, yes they would of eaten animal based products from time to time but they were luxury products and not consumed in the high doses we see today with huge dairy and meat farms. This type of animal agriculture has become the primary cause of the destruction of our planet on a mass scale. Maybe it's time we looked at our ancient selves, so we can save our beautiful planet and look after own bodies more efficiently. It's thought that our ancient ancestors had a lot more availability of consuming natural plant based B12 than we do in our modern world.

Fermentation of plant foods, particularly fruits, occurs spontaneously in nature, providing another route by which our ancestors may have ingested B12-producing lactobacilli. Our ancestors almost certainly consumed any edible wild mushrooms and all of the plants they ate grew in soils teaming with bacteria and fertilized by fermented organic wastes, providing another B12 source.
All of this information suggests that modern hygiene, indoor lifestyles, antibiotics, and use of chemical rather than biomass fertilizers in farming have reduced the amount of B12 available to humans in modern urban environments from non-animal sources.

Thus, the low availability of B12 from non-animal sources in modern urban environments is an artifact not reflective of preindustrial environments, and it appears probable that our prehistoric ancestors had more non-animal sources present in their environment. **

IMG_20180215_232308.png

Mushrooms also contain vitamin D when grown in direct sunlight, another vitamin many people are deficient in especially in cold weather countries. You can leave your store brought mushrooms on a window sill on a sunny day and they will still absorb the vitamin D even after they have been picked. Mushroom aren't technically a vegetable or a fruit either, they are an entirely different thing, the flesh of the God's...

Because it is from a different food kingdom, the mushroom has a very different nutrition profile and has antioxidants and bioactive compounds not found in plants. For example, it has more B vitamins that found in vegetables, it is a good source of essentials mineral like selenium and has powerful antioxidants like ergothioneine.

The mushroom evolved at a different time to plants (Carroll 2001). They arrived on earth after plants and before animals. So, please keep eating your vegetables, while adding mushrooms to the meal to take advantage of its unique health benefits. In fact, the latest research indicates that it is a smart decision to eat mushrooms daily as they have a positive influence on blood lipids, blood glucose, immunity and weight control, and offer many essential nutrients and antioxidants. ***

IMG_20180215_232137.png

I moved to Catalunia because of my natural vegan lifestyle choice, I found that there are more plant based products available here all year round at accessible prices. I'm really lucky in that there is a wide variety of mushrooms, particularly in Autumn to early winter, some of these mushrooms are very obscure to me and some look totally unappetizing but many seem to be picked wild from the mountains. I still need to venture out of my comfort zone to try out all these amazing varieties, knowing I will benefit from a B12 dose is defiantly a motivator and I hope you are also inspired to use mushrooms in your diet everyday like our ancient ancestors once did.


*http://www.b12-vitamin.com/body-store/
**http://donmatesz.blogspot.co.at/2011/12/vitamin-b12-and-human-nutritional.html
***http://www.southmill.com/mushrooms-myth-facts/


๐Ÿฅ‘ ๐ŸŽ๐Ÿฅ ๐Ÿ‰ ๐Ÿ‡ ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿˆ๐Ÿ‹๐Ÿ‘ ๐Ÿ๐ŸŠ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ

For more health and diet tips, check out @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet ๐ŸŒฑ can change your life and change the world
โœŒ๏ธJoin the food revlution nowโœŠ

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

Sort: ย 

I have had so many issues with b12 in the past and living a plant-based lifestyle helped me to restore balance. For 5 years my body stopped absorbing this and I felt like crap. I had to take injections every month to up my levels until I started to eat a mainly plant-based diet... for reasons unknown, my body started to absorb it again. Small note though... the body doesn't store B12... water soluble so any excess leaves the body through urine. Have a lovely day!

HI Amy, I'm sorry to hear what happened to you! this is another testimony that animal products are not the best option, i think its an indicator that we just can't metabolize meat as easily for the so called benefits like b12 or protein. Like protein is absorbed much better from beans whilst eaten with vitamin C. I find many sources on the internet that say we store vitamin B12 in the body for years, yes a substantial amount may passed out in urine on a daily basis like any other vitamin but it seems the body is capable of storing a lot. Did you ever take antibiotics in your life? because its said that was an inhibitor!
Here's what the internet says about the body b12 storage
Unlike most other vitamins, B12 is stored in substantial amounts, mainly in the liver, until it is needed by the body. If a person stops consuming the vitamin, the bodyโ€™s stores of this vitamin usually take about 3 to 5 years to exhaust. web source
or
Our bodies store greater amounts of vitamin B12 than they do for any other vitamins; an estimated 2000 โ€“ 4000 ยตg, the majority of which is found in the liver. Theoretically speaking, the body could function on a minimum provision of 1 ยตg per day for up to 10 years. This is one reason why the serious effects of a vitamin B12 deficiency can take several years to become apparent. Web source

There seem to be a lot of factors why someone may not absorb b12 and not be able to store it properly and probably more than what's on this list

Overgrowth of bacteria in part of the small intestine
Impaired absorption (malabsorption disorders such as inflammatory bowel disease, celiac disease, or certain pancreatic disorders)
Inflammatory bowel disease
Fish tapeworm infection
AIDs
Surgery that removes the part of the small intestine where vitamin B12 is absorbed
Drugs such as antacids and metformin (used to treat diabetes)
Repeated exposure to nitrous oxide (laughing gas)
Lack of intrinsic factor
Decreased stomach acidity (common among older people)

I studied pharmacy and biology (later holistic health and nutrition too) and always have been taught we don't store it. Interesting. Will research it a bit more. Thanks for the tip on this.
Never took much antibiotics in my life. Got so many tests on this vitamin. Since my body stopped absorbing it they injected it straight into my body to bypass the digestive tract. Though they gave me so much every time, after 3 weeks it was all gone. Nothing coming from my liver either.
I wish they did some more research on it. They just said it happens to some people but we don't know why. But all is well now. Got it tested recently and everything is normal. That's the most important thing because b12 deficiency is not fun. I fell asleep everywhere, didn't wanna come out of the house and just felt miserable. Thanks for your lovely comment.

Wow you are very qualified! that's interesting, i think there maybe some conflicting opinions on if we store it or not. but science is always evolving new theories come up. they were the first things on google if you type do we store b12 in the body im not a scientist so i cant do the studies myself but find it weird they would say that actually b12 is the one vitamin we do store heaps of! i think this just shows we don't know enough about what is happening in the human body, even tho we think we do! Glad to hear you are normal now! yep this issue is very important, this is only part 1 of my post so I will take your helpful comments into consideration for part 2. thanks!

My pleasure. Will def research this more. Very interesting and important topic!

Yes ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿป mushlove!! ๐Ÿ–ค๐Ÿ’œ

It is crazy how much your taste and cravings change when you alter your diet. I never liked bananas or broccoli before switching to a vegan diet, but now I actually CRAVE them! I also get a lot of cravings for tofu as well. Your body really does know what it wants!

It's interesting that you started craving mushrooms when cutting out eggs. Thats one of the other foods that I all the sudden didn't hate anymore once going vegan. It makes sense that it would be the small amount of b12 naturally in them! I'm going to start buying mushrooms and setting them in the sunlight before eating them now. Thanks for the helpful information!

Broccoli and Bananas are the best!

THIS IS A MESSAGE TO EVERYONE, please source local mushrooms, ideally organic and don't eat them raw if they are not organic especially from places like china they may contain; agaritine & hydrazine, both of which have been found to be cancer-causing, but are luckily both heat-unstable (so cooking them is safer, but not good in soup as it transfers into the liquid)
To be honest It's difficult to tell the conspiracy theories from truth but we all know non-organic products that have to travel thousands of miles to reach us can't be any good!

Shrooms are life :) seriously: great post!

I know shrooms are my life :) thanks โœŒ๏ธ

All those mushrooms seem hearty and tasty. Yuumy!

i know great for winter time especially, my favourite snack at the mo

Gotta have some tomorrow ;)

Very interesting perspective here, I was already aware of the B12 issue and I have a fortified cereal and fortified plant milk most mornings. Still, it's good to be aware of alternative sources, I hadn't thought about mushrooms before.

If you are interested I'd recommend checking out this podcast which is all about mushrooms, ranging from magic mushrooms right through to some other more unusual kinds which can have some interesting effects on the body and mind.

oh wow, thanks for the link i'll check it out for sure

This is a part of mushroom I never knew

cool im glad you learnt something!

Eating vegetable and fruit also mushroom very good

Seaweed is a really good source of B12 too! Luckily I love both mushrooms and seaweed

This post has received a 4.35 % upvote, thanks to: @celestialcow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61215.97
ETH 3350.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49