๐ŸŒผ Spring time soup and Salad ๐Ÿƒ and making a compost tea ๐ŸŒฑ

in #vegan โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

You wont believe this but I only recently leaned about this eco craze called 'homesteading' since I arrived on Steemit, which I thought was only restricted to people who were off grid and had a large chunk of land they were working on day to day. Little did I know that the term is more broad than that and I finally have a word to describe what I have been up to for the last 4 years can be considered homesteading, even though I live in an apartment!

hss1.jpg

When it comes to food i'm very passionate about making everything myself from scratch where possible and avoiding most stuff that comes out of packaging. Not only is it better for my health, often cheaper and also good for the environment. I had no idea how to grow anything from seed until I embarked on this journey to make a conscious effort to put the food I eat into my own hands so I can become more self sufficient. I've had a lot of ups and down's trying to grow organically and at the moment I'm slowing building up my balcony grow. Lettuce is very easy and is thriving at the moment, so I had to make a salad with my own homegrown leaves, as part of this exciting #homesteadingchallenge hosted by @kiaraantonoviche.

saladgrow.jpg

I also had been meaning to make a curry squash and leak soup for the last few days, my vegetables (all brought from a local farm shop cooperative) were starting to wilt and needed to be used up quickly. I only just realized that I could make a compost tea with all my left overs and cut off bits, I was really excited about this so I'm sharing this extra part as well as my recipe. As you can see from my gif all I need to do was just blend up the bits (that would normally get thrown in the bio bin) and add water, I made a couple of jugs and am leaving them to sit for 24 hours before using them as a nutritious fertilizer for my plants.

composttea.gif

Back to my own nutrition, I've been feeling a bit under the weather because it's that typical spring when the weather is going hot and cold but this spring definitely feels colder than previous years. Although i'm not 'sick' I'm low in energy and feel achy. I wanted to make a soup that was particularly healing for bodily aches and pains so I used ginger, turmeric and black pepper along with some organic ground korma spices in the soup. I like the soup and salad combo because you are getting the benefits of raw produce along with that warming and comforting food, perfect for spring/ autumn seasonal changes when it keeps going hot and cold on you.

hs10.jpg

One of my homemade condiments for salad and sandwiches is to make hummus with sesame seeds because its so quick and easy. Requires no pre-soaking of chickpeas or pulses and can be combined with whatever you like. This one is a red hummus, so as you might of guessed I used tomatoes and red pepper! Topped with Sumac (a beautiful and extremely healthy middle eastern spice I picked up on my travels and can easily brought online)

Here's a gif of the prep for making this meal....

food2.gif

Ingredients - Curry Soup

Large salad onion
mushrooms
carrot
leak
pumpkin
ginger
turmeric
black pepper
Himalaya salt
organic ground korma spice

(boiled, left to cool an blended)

Topped with blended fresh spinach leaves and freshly squeezed lemon)

hs15.jpg

Ingredients - Salad

*(homegrown)
*salad leaves mix
*Mibuna Leaves
*Mizuna leaves
Asparagus
Broad bean
little plum tomatoes

hs20.jpg

Ingredients - Red Hummus

Sesame seeds
Red pepper
Tomato
Apple cider vinegar
freshly squeezed lemon juice
oregano
Himalaya salt
olive oil

hs16.jpg

hs17.jpg

Important health tip

I've mentioned this before that broad beans and spinach are all high in Oxalic Acid, asparagus is slightly lower, this acid inhibits the absorption of minerals like iron and calcium by eating them with tomatoes and freshly squeezed lemon, the vitamin C helps with the absorption of these minerals!

ecotrainbanner.png

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

๐Ÿฅ‘ ๐ŸŽ๐Ÿฅ ๐Ÿ‰ ๐Ÿ‡ ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿˆ๐Ÿ‹๐Ÿ‘ ๐Ÿ๐ŸŠ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ

For more health and diet tips, check out @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet ๐ŸŒฑ can change your life and change the world
โœŒ๏ธJoin the food revolution nowโœŠ

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

Sort: ย 

Absolutely love it, well done my Friend ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŒธ

Thank u for ur sweet comment :)

Wow, amazing that you're making everything yourself โ™ฅ That hummus/tahini looks divine!!!

Hehe thank u! Yea I'm very addicted to these sesame hummus/tahini (altho it's not as oily as a proper tahini) so I've been calling it hummus. So much better than buying store brought stuff. So fresh and flavoursome!

It looks divine for sure! Yeah, so much better โ™ฅ

Just love it. I am sure this soup and salad will get you going again. Low energy levels is never fun. Big hug!

Oh I got cravings for your food!!;) Looks so good, and it is really filled with a lot of great nutrients! I made a similar soup yesterday, to warm us up.

About to take the vegan plunge for the first time. Following you for recipes and encouragement!!!

That's great news,! Just ask me questions anytime you can join the vegan discord group for tips and support. The link to it is in one of my other post (just click on join vegans of discord with the vegetable heart, it will take u there!)

What a wonderful post. I am amazed to see what you are doing in your apartment. You do homestead! Well done! The salad and soup look amazing. Did you make the bread in the first photo? It looks delicious!

Thank u :) unfortunately I don't think I could ever make bread as beautiful as this, I don't have an oven either but I do have a bread maker but nothing comes out like this! Lol I'm very fortunate that there is a incredible catalan artesian bakery in the village where I live. This bread is spelt and cost 2.70 euro

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestialcow from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You've been entered into the challenge, thank you!

this looks so delicious and I am a big fan of container growing, well done @celestialcow, job well done xx

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68011.48
ETH 3275.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64