๐ŸŒฑ MY ORGANIC BALCONY GROW - GROW YOUR OWN! ๐ŸŒฑ

in #vegan โ€ข 7 years ago

I thought i'd share my effort with you, I'm not exactly the most green fingered person. I grew up in East London and connecting with a nature wasn't really on the programme growing up. After I started getting into health food and seeing how expensive organic veggies were to buy in the UK, I decided to get an allotment. I thought it would be pretty simple but I quickly realized I had so much to learn and had completely no idea how this all worked. Whatever I read online and tried to put into practice the results just did not come to fruition. I manage to get a sack of potatoes out of it and some garlic which I never got around to harvesting before I left the country!

IMG_4608.JPG

This large patch was too much for one person to manage, I got some helping hands from time to time, but I just could not keep up the work and the constant battle with the wildlife, the allotment site was advertised to be like a giant garden. Which was great for me because I lived in a apartment but that meant dear, rabbits, slugs and all sorts of other pest are passing through and were eating everybody's crops.

After moving to Catalunya and seeing how much sun is available everyday, I figured I'd have a better chance at growing just on my own balcony. I didn't have a big budget for this so I thought i'd start small and grab 3 containers from the local shop, some regular potting soil and some organic soil mixing 4 parts of potting soil to 1 organic part. I had some really good seeds left over from my allotment grow, which I got from Real Seeds based in the UK and just sprinkled them into containers.

IMG_20171101_120241.jpg

I had watched a video that you can sow lettuce seeds quite compact this means you can yield quite a lot of leaves in a small space, cut them off and they will grow again, making sure you don't cut too far to the stem, leaving about an inch. I was surprised that it does work, I cut down all the lettuce over Christmas, I went away for 3 weeks and when I returned it had already started growing back. Unfortunately I got fungus gnats and they killed off the spring onion seedlings that were planted with the lettuce but at least the lettuce still managed to survive. I couldn't get rid of the fungus gnats organically. I tried washing up liquid and neem oil frequently, I wasn't prepare to use hydrogen peroxide as recommended online, so I decided to leave them be, if my lettuce is still growing I don't have a problem with them.

IMG_20171109_103145.jpg

I also found some ginger that had started sprouting and thought it would be awesome to have some ginger plants in the house for the aesthetic beauty as well as for harvesting but unfortunately this didn't work out. I think it got too cold for the ginger and it had already sprouted too much before it had been planted, it's also probably not quite the right climate for them but I still wouldn't mind trying again but maybe planting them in the spring time instead of Autumn might be a better idea!

I will update you more on my Balcony grow as it develops and what meals I manage to make from my harvests, I hope you find this interesting. Any questions comments welcome and I look forward to any suggestions you might have for me!

๐Ÿฅ‘ ๐ŸŽ๐Ÿฅ ๐Ÿ‰ ๐Ÿ‡ ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿˆ๐Ÿ‹๐Ÿ‘ ๐Ÿ๐ŸŠ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ

For more health and diet tips, check out @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet ๐ŸŒฑ can change your life and change the world
โœŒ๏ธJoin the food revlution nowโœŠ

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

Sort: ย 

You are 100% absol right; Grow your own; <3 ; we need to get back to roots, to earth; to the underground mycelium network of information!

@celestialcow see this in steemit is to see life !! Greetings from Venezuela: D.
Saludos. STEEM ON !.


I love Goats.... beautiful!

You've done a great job, mate. There's nothing like you own produce!

From East London to Spain, eh? The right way to go... well I moved to Italy from North London, and I love it too :)

haha, i've been too quite a few places inbetween, never going back to London tho.... but if you are making the best of it, then great.... it's a really exciting multi-cultural place to be!

Neither am I... I mean at a certain point you're tired of walking over crackheads, who just happened to drop on the floor of yr bus :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestialcow from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @celestialcow! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

the only thing I can easily grow is green onions in the bottle! =)) Capture.JPG

amazing you have inspired me, as my spring onion seedlings died from the fungus knats, so i guess u cut the hole first and they just naturally shoot out the holes?

i don't know exactly what "shoot out" means, but I cut the holes, then from the inside I put the small onions with their head out in the hole

That's awesome, the ginger looked great, so sad it died :( . I've been planting some of my own vegetables since 4 years now and it's been amazing... Tomatoes, basil, parsley, peppers.. everything homemade! hahah. Anyways, greetings from Venezuela! upvoted!

I know :( maybe i'll try again, want to try tumeric aswell! hello Venezuela! I bet you can grow many things there, good climate! u should make a post, i couldn't see any. Good home food is medicine :)
I also just posted this, if you are interested....
https://steemit.com/vegan/@celestialcow/harvesting-japenese-shoots-from-my-balcony-grow

Lovely little garden!!

Hi @celestialcow!

I'm happy to include this article for my โ€œCARE TO READโ€ CROSSWORD PUZZLE NO. 15.

Thank you for creating such awesome content!

You're not missing much in the UK, I'd love to move abroad given the chance. Your content looks great and got you a new follower keep up the good work!

oh wow thanks, ill follow u back because u look like u know more about growing than me! and i know nothing :) winging it everyday

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51