Iron-chef : sweet potato and egg plant mouse

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180719_172259.jpg

This week's iron chef challenge was to create a desert with a common vegetable. It seemed like quite a hard challenge at first but after some thought its not that unusual, carrot cake is very common, beetroot is often used to make red velvet cake, in Japan they use adzuki beans in deserts and Chinese use mushrooms and egg as a desert.

IMG_20180719_144424.jpg

Away from the home comforts of my own kitchen and living in the middle of an indonesian village presents some challenges, locally only a few vegetables are available unless I can get further a field to bigger markets, also im battling with an army or termites and ants and flies buzzing around me. All trying to eat my food and the sweeter it is the more aggressive the problem.

IMG_20180719_150323.jpg

This pressure meant I had to keep things fairly simple because if it was going to take too long my food would be eaten by nature quite quickly! I had picked up this japenese sweet potatoes and egg plants so decided to use these to make the desert.

IMG_20180720_082311.jpg

I boiled the potatoes and heat the egg plant on a pan. After that I used the inside of the egg plant and discarded the skin. I also added the sweet potato to the Blender with a little coconut milk powder and carob which I had brought with me on my travels.

IMG_20180719_164941.jpg

Ingredients

Sweet potatoes
Egg plant
Coconut cream powder
Date syrup
Carob

IMG_20180719_165537.jpg

I blended everything until it made this thick consistency, I also added a bit of date syrup which I also brought with me to make the dish a little sweeter.

IMG_20180719_165947.jpg

The texture is so thick and creamy, and so good to know its filled with healthy vegetables!

IMG_20180719_170721.jpg

I showed the villagers the carob powder and the carob beans from the tree, the were very interested because it smells so good and tastes sweet. Here you can see all the kids enjoying the mouse straight from the Blender.

IMG_20180719_204442.jpg

IMG_20180721_101348.jpg

🥑 🍎🥝 🍉 🍇 🍐🍓🍈🍋🍑 🍍🍊🍌🍏

For more health, nutrition, spirituality + more @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet 🌱 can change your life and change the world
✌️Join the food revolution now

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

ecotrainbanner.png

global love banner .jpg

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

instathumbnail.jpg

facebookthumbnailxs.png

Sort:  

How nice of you to share the yummy stuff with these kids.
This eggplants are so cute! 😍

Excited recipe and the veggies in there are definitely a surprising dessert ingredient 😉

wow no way,,who would have thought!!! im amazed especially by the aubergine in there.. what have you done! who needs flour anymore?!

Well done! It looks so nice 👍🏻

A dessert packed full of nutrition!! I like how u use the egg plant to make the mousse have this smooth texture, plus great idea adding coconut powder, I believe it will mask the flavour of the egg plant while giving the mousse a fragance of the coconut milk .

I love Aubergine but would never have dreamed of making dessert with it, this sounds great :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54