Hearty and Healthy Carob & Nut cake!

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

autumncarobcake.jpg

I'm excited to share with you a recipe I only just made today and have already posted on my new website


I've had a mental week and not managed to get that much done at all, nights dreaming about earthquakes and it turns out the whole earth is rumbling whilst i'm asleep, I feel the restlessness of mother earth in dreams. The Taurus full moon triggering me and my boundaries about my comfort-ability!

I had to take some time out in nature, the sun was shining I was swimming, walking and sunbathing, enjoying some Costa Bravan bays a small journey away from home. I spent time walking barefoot on the rocks, to strengthen my balance, being active all day really strengthened my body and helped me to release a lot of energy. But now the cold air is blowing in and I feel the burned out, finally the long Spanish summer is over and the change is season is finally here!

Today seemed the best day to make a hearty comforting cake like this! I don’t bake often because I don’t have an oven, so this recipe is easily adaptable if you happen to have a bread maker you can use the cake setting! I also rarely eat sugar, even the healthier options like coconut, date syrup or agave (and by the way agave may not be as healthier as its cracked up to be!) I’m much more content with the sugar from fruits like bananas and beans like carob. So do not fret this cake is still delicious but for the sweeter tooth and sugar addict, go ahead and add something extra in there if you prefer 🙂 but I dare you first to try it without 😉


Wet Ingredients

3 ripe bananas (mashed)
1/4 cup melted coconut oil
1 chia egg

Dry Ingredients

1.5 cups gluten free oat flour
1/2 coconut flour
4 tbsp Carob
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp

Extras

Chopped Almonds
Chopped Walnuts

Instructions

  1. Line 8 inch loaf pan with parchment paper
  2. Pre heat oven at 180c
  3. Peel bananas and mash them with fork in large mixing bowl until smooth, add flax egg and coconut oil. Combined together (use hand whisk, if you have one)
  4. Add dry ingredients, whisk well and fold in chopped nuts (save a a few for topping)
  5. Pour mixture in to pan and smooth evenly with spatula, sprinkle with extra nuts.
  6. Bake for 60-70 minutes, Use the knife test to check when its done, if knife is clean, its ready!
  7. Allow to cool and Enjoy

Top with Aquafaba ‘cream’

  1. Drain water of cooked chickpeas
  2. Leave the water to cool in fridge over night
  3. Whisk, with hand mixture until light and fluffy
  4. You can add a little lemon juice to make the peaks stronger
  5. (Optional) Add healthy sugar for sweetness, adding a little bit add a time, keep whisking
  6. Eat with cake!

🥑 🍎🥝 🍉 🍇 🍐🍓🍈🍋🍑 🍍🍊🍌🍏

For more health, nutrition, spirituality + more @celestialcow....

instathumbnail.jpg

facebookthumbnailxs.png

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet 🌱 can change your life and change the world
✌️Join the food revolution now

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

ecotrainbanner.png

tribesteemupmemberbanner.jpg

naturalmedicinebanner.jpg

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62907.73
ETH 2531.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62