๐Ÿ’š Fresh Fusion Oriental + Mediterranean Salad ๐Ÿฅ— w/ Greens from the 'Garden' ๐ŸŒฑ

in #vegan โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

orientalsalad2.jpg

I'm growing oriental salad leaves of different kinds in one container...

And I generously sowed the seeds and now they are getting a bit over crowed, so I had to thin quite a lot out all in one go, that means I was able to make this delicious salad today!
Some of the leaves are a bit mustardy, hot and spicy, they are really fantastic!
They are not available in the shop so it really makes me happy to be able to grow these so easily, even for a novice grower like myself, who has had a bad track record with growing my own! I really encourage anyone to grow fresh greens, now is a good time to start planting!

If you dont pull the plant from the root normally a lot of these leafy greens will just grow back if you cut them (not too close to the base) so they just keep coming! And once they get going they grow fast! it's incredible! They just keep giving all from one seed!

salad2.jpg

How Do you Feel about Eggplant?

My partner really doesn't like eggplant that much, but I do! I've managed to turn them around by make these battered beauties, making the batter from soaked red lentils then blended with some fresh water, it's really that simple to create a very tasty gluten free batter. I also added a little baking soda to the mixture just before frying them, they are so tasty like this, even an eggplant hater can't say no!

salad7.jpg

The best thing about salad is...

That they are so versatile you can just keeping adding all the delicious vegetables you like, for me they are always different every-time I make one! This time I added my favourite shredded purple cabbage, chopped romano beans and red pepper. I also used some of the red pepper to make my red tahini/hummus dip (its so easy just blend them together with some herbs and lemon juice or oil of choice) to go with the salad. This time I mixed some avocado puree and the dip together for a two tone extra tasty effect.

salas3.jpg

Here is my 'Garden'...

A second story, terracotta style tiled 10m2 Balcony with several containers. Here are the 'oriental' greens growing in action, it looks a bit wild, for some reason i wanted to plant all the seeds mixed up so it would create a natural effect! It is a bit tricky when it comes to just harvesting what you want, as they all have tangled in together and they are a bit over crowded in the pictures, but I think they still look beautiful. Now I have given them a good pruning they have a lot more space, growing strong and have blessed me with a Delicious Salad. Thank you lovely greens!

This is whats in the container...


'Mibuna' oriental greens
'Red Mizuna' quick growing oriental green
'Tsoi Sim' Japanese flowering shoot leaf green
'Liscari Sativa' Salsola soda (succulent shrub that is native to the Mediterranean Basin)

orientalgreensgrow.jpg

I'm entering this dish into the #veganwednesday competition by @heart-to-heart, if you don't already know her you should check her channel, she posts amazing vegan and gluten free recipes as well as fascinating stories and other useful content.

Thanks for checking out my dish of the day :)

๐Ÿฅ‘ ๐ŸŽ๐Ÿฅ ๐Ÿ‰ ๐Ÿ‡ ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿˆ๐Ÿ‹๐Ÿ‘ ๐Ÿ๐ŸŠ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ

For more health and diet tips, check out @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet ๐ŸŒฑ can change your life and change the world
โœŒ๏ธJoin the food revolution nowโœŠ

All images are created by @celestialcow

ecotrainbanner.png

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort: ย 

Beautiful salad and pics. My hubby is not a huge fan of eggplant either. Thanks for the lentil batter tip! Sound yum!

Best of luck for the competition ๐Ÿ˜ฌ, that salad looks great may have to see if i can get some of those to add a bit of variety!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestialcow from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

It is so rewarding to grow your own vegetables. Your salads will never be fresher! Fried eggplant is a real treat. You are right, even an eggplant hater will love fried eggplant! Very nice salad.

loving your little garden, container gardening rocks, living in a vehicle it's the way forward. Love all the food you cook and will have to give the eggplant a try.

hehe i really admire you living in a vechile and I could do it if me and my partner had separate ones, i dont think it would work together lol!

This salad with your home grown greens makes me feel very happy! The feuture is bright for people like you who are creative and independent in your way of living and thinking!
Thanks dear for being such a great inspiration for me!!!

Fantastic salad and pictures, too!

Awesome herb garden you got there! And the salad looks awesome too :)

Looks delicious girl! I always thought I didn't like eggplant... turns out I just didn't know how to prepare it properly until turning vegan. Now I know how incredible it can be (as seen here!) <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71299.70
ETH 3793.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80