Tabouleh Salad With Dandelion

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

tabouli8.jpg

Hamilton Ontario was the city where I lived most of my life. I was working for a friend who had a small baking business. Her and I worked alone. It was that small.

Since she was the boss and one of my best friends at the time, we would go on what we called three hour lunches. We called them that because that is exactly what they were. It was a good time.

We chose the same restaurant every time because of their delicious lebanese cuisine. This is where I would try all of the traditional foods of Lebanon. At the time I was not vegan but I've always been a salad lover. When I tried the tabouleh salad I fell in love.

Most of the tabouleh salads that I have gotten over the years have been made with bulgur, parboiled groats from wheat. It comes in different sizes from fine to coarse. It usually has mostly chopped parsley, onion and a dressing made from olive oil, lemon juice, and garlic. It's so tangy and garlicky that it balances the nutty and sweet bitter green flavor of the parsley and makes it really enjoyable.

Today I did a different style, using dandelions that are still plentiful around here and not at super tough stage that is difficult to chew. I try to get the most tender ones possible. I also added some chopped kale fresh from a neighbors garden. These are the greatest gifts of all.

tabouli9.jpg

Since they are more tough and bitter than parsley, I chopped than blended them in with the olive oil, lemon juice and garlic adding salt to taste.

tabouli1.jpg

I also used more bulgur than usual as well so the dandelion would not overpower. I added mint leaves which is an important ingredient in tabouleh salad, and chives which are plentiful and delicious right now.

tabouli2.jpg

Often tabouleh salad comes with cucumber and tomatoes mixed in but I kept the tomatoes for the garnish. I find that when they are mixed in, they dilute the flavors of the dressing.

When cooking the bulgur I first boil the water. In this case approximately four cups. When the water is boiled I turn off the burner and add the bulgur slowly while stirring with a fork. I never measure how much I put in because for me it works out that if I add enough bulgur so it goes to the top of the waterline, it is just the way I like it. Stir it so it doesn't clump than cover until the water is absorbed and stir again into a shallow pan to cool. Don't keep it warm for too long or it will overcook. You want it to be fluffy and slightly al dente. It will soak up the dressing and continue softening.

tabouli.jpg

After it's cool add the chopped cucumber, and chopped red onion. I also added a little parsley and oregano from the pot of herbs outside.

tabouli3.jpg

Then add the dressing made with the dandelion.

tabouli4.jpg

After the salad is on the plate, add tomatoes. I made an additional chive dressing for the side for an extra boost of flavor. It was a simple blend of chives, lemon juice, and olive oil.

tabouli5.jpg

If you served this to someone who who likes tabouleh salad, they would never guess there was dandelion in it. With it being blended in as part of the dressing, it just tasted nice and fresh, herby garlicky, and tangy .

tabouli7.jpg

This is much more than a salad which many people eat on the side. It can be a perfect meal as well with lots of taste and nourishment.

For a gluten free version I suggest using quinoa, or brown rice.

tabouli6.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Amazingly delish @carolynstahl

mm this is really yummy dear, this looks delecious.

Thank you my friend. Good evening from Montreal Canada!

I am pretty sure you did not stay with your in law during those time, she would probably give you the face for those garlicky breath!

Cool fact! I did not know bulgur are wheat groat! I looks very similar to quinoa from far.

And ofcourse, Damn that one delicious looking salad. If I became vegetable, you are to be blame ....haha

We are still here but the father was in the hospital until yesterday. She went to visit him for four days. Several hours gone. It was great.

When we want cook garlic now we will do it outside on a portable burner that we have. The weather is good for now.

I would love to be blamed for that haha!

Oh dear, how is he? Actually I was referring to back then when you will have lunch with your boss/friend.

He's fine whatever you know. He's had problems all his life.

Boss/friend? Not sure if I know what you mean haha.

Oops I misread it.sry
Btw congrats on your win in CWU

Hey congrats on yours too!!!!

Friend tell me how are you? although you know me you know that I love your recipes and this looks delicious

Hello my friend thank you I'm fine. Hope you are doing great!

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91