Dumpling Stew With An Asian Twist

in #vegan6 years ago

dump4.jpg

My father's family are Hutterites in Canada and they come from Germanic people. They settled in North America, more than one hundred years ago, maintaining an old fashion religious way of life. When I would visit them as a child I indulged in foods that were made on the farm in their communal kitchen by the women.

I was introduced to dumplings. I really don't know how they made them but I imagine flour and eggs. I fell in love, which is surprising because up until my Thai mother got sick, when I was little, she concocted some crazy good Thai dishes that I can't name but I remember tastes sensations that you can't get in a European dumpling. When my relatives made them they put them in a soup that was clear and tasted really comforting.

The next time I had dumplings was only about a decade ago when my German mother in law made them. I ate eggs and dairy at that time. When she made her potato dumplings I was reminded of the ones I had when I visited my relatives.

But today I wanted to combine a round dumpling with a stew made with basic Asian flavors and do my own thing with it.

I wasn't sure how the dumplings would turn out. They were made simply with potatoes, flax egg, flour and salt. I boiled potatoes, mashed them then added the flour until it could be manipulated into a ball.

dump5.jpg

I kept them quite soft so it was a delicate procedure to roll them without having them stick all over my hands. I used a spoon to place them in the boiling water.

dump6.jpg

dump12.jpg

For the veggies in the stew I chose everything that I could find in the fridge. I want to make room in there since it is my in laws house and they have their fridge jammed with enormous amounts of bread. More than anyone needs.

There were mushrooms, red pepper, carrots, onion, chili pepper, fresh tomatoes, fresh corn, frozen peas and broccoli. I used them all, along with garlic and ginger and some tomato puree.

dump7.jpg

Then a basic sauce made from soy sauce, sesame oil, lime juice, rice wine vinegar, cane sugar, onion powder, garlic powder and ginger powder, was ready to go in the pan after the veggies were sauteed.

dump8.jpg

dump9.jpg

I couldn't resist throwing in a spoonful of peanut butter. I am a fan of peanuts in Asian food. I know it has more fat and calories than I should consume. Oh well I will take a break for a while.

dump10.jpg

When the stew was ready I added the dumplings and simmered a while longer.

dump11.jpg

dump1.jpg

I had also added some fresh Thai Basil which was purchase by accident by mother in law. I lucked out.

dump3.jpg

The dumplings turned out just the way I had hoped. It was my favorite way to eat a dumpling so far. Not traditional that is for sure.

dump2.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

You have such an interesting international background! So many cultures are mixed in you! I love your comforting colorful meals! You are a big inspiration!

Oh thank you @delishtreats! This is a wonderful and heartwarming comment!
I just don't have any real solid culture in my cooking so everything is a mix up but this is Canada and it has become full of cultures so I have adapted.

Thanks again for your kind words!

Something interesting about Asian food, when you mentioned Thai dumpling I imagine thin skin filled with some sort of meat. But looks like I was wrong. I never knew Thai dumplings was without the fillings.

Is this type of colourful and good looking dish common over there? The vegetarian restaurant here have most of their ingredients fried, rarely can find something like yours. I hate fried vegetable m I wish there are more of your type of dish here. If so, for sure I'll be a vegetarian!

You are right. Thai dumplings are filled but I took a European dumpling and did a little fusion Asian thing with it. Mostly because I'm using whatever I can find in the house. This is the first time I ever did this. Like I said I'm doing what I can with what I have but I could have filled them too. You know I have to think fast in someone elses kitchen. "when will they be home?" haha.

Hahaha I know how's that feel, you have to get everything done before they realise and gets the chance to nag you!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-31T15:02:36
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 313.98/400.00
Total Photos: 41
Total comments: 24
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75