Do Horses Want to be Ridden?

in #vegan7 years ago (edited)

horses-2427513_1920.jpg

I came to Canada from Thailand at the age of four. My Canadian father took me to my first fall fair shortly after my arrival. The aromas of delicious junk food wafted through the air, filling me with delight.

elkhart-732474_1920 (1).jpg

This was the bridge of excitement that would lead me to my greatest passion inspired by the pony rides. I was now a horse fanatic at the age of four. I drew pictures of horses, got children's books from the library and stared at the pictures.

Soon my father realized he had to do something. My mother died when I was eight so my guilty sorry father decided to spoil me by taking me to a horseback riding stable once a week. My uncle lived with us. He and my dad would take turns taking me to the ranch to get my fix on horseback.

At first they would walk along side the horse, with me on he saddle, then they would eventually let me go ahead on my own. Soon they realized that I was a natural, and kept a good distance behind.

carohorse1 (1).jpg

When I was eleven, I begged my father to let me take equestrian lessons instead of going to Sunday school. My father was only experimenting with different faiths so it was easy to manipulate him. At equestrian school I became the best rider.

How do I know that? Well one day they brought a new high strung horse in and asked who was the best rider. I was instantly stuck in the middle of a circle of young riders pointing at me saying "SHE is!"

After years of coming in first place at competitions, my father broke the news that he could no longer afford it. He was a blue collar welder that sacrificed all good things for himself to please his motherless daughter.

All I could do now was dream that one day I would have a horse of my own. I would saddle it and put a bit in it's mouth, and a bridle over it's sweet face. Up until two years ago when I went vegan for the animals, I would imagine riding a horse into the sunset to calm myself to sleep. WHAT!

horse-2337176_1920.jpg

I realize now that horses don't want to be ridden!

Part of my training was to put a saddle on their backs and a bit in their mouth. Would I want that for myself? The answer is no.
Suddenly I have flashbacks of tightening the girth strap following the instructions to smack his or her belly to prevent the on purpose bloating from the horse. They learned to do this so that it would be looser when they exhaled. Also forcing a metal bit into the mouth.

It is so clear to me now that the only relationship that I should ever have with a horse or any other being, is one of love and respect.

Like us and every being, they just want to be free.

iceland-2420768_1920 (1).jpg

Most images are from Pixabay

Sort:  

well,they are social animals

Thanks for sharing; my daughter loves horse-riding, but can only be done on holidays and, yes, it is quite expensive. She has always had great respect for her favourite mare.


I run a community called Minnows Accelerator Project - you may signup to get further support, advice and promotion. Thanks!

I've wondered about how a horse feels about being ridden. I was six years old when I road my first and last horse. His name was Stinker he nearly threw me off and I was convinced I did not like him anymore than he liked me. The truth is I was heartbroken because I loved horses and Stinker psyched me out and made me think or imagine what a horses perspective was. I imagined they all want to run wild and free plus I decided I didn't want to risk my neck or be cruel to a horse for a joyride. PS I am only a part time Vegan. I also wonder if you felt deceived by your dad because he spoiled you and then no longer had the means to keep up your expensive sport?

Thanks for your words. We riders DO love the horses but we grow up not realizing that they would prefer to do all the things children would . Run and play.
To be honest I was disappointed about my dad's decision but by that age (I was16) , I started to get the whole wage thing.

We totally agree! Excellent post, @carolynstahl. We also think that animals, just as humans, want to be happy and avoid suffering. We are pleased to meet people like you who share our love for animals and promotes a better relationship with them trough their example. That's why we recently started our @letsteamup project, so we can help animals in distress through Steemit. We would be very happy to hear what you think about our initiative. Thank you for sharing your story. We'll keep an eye on your next thoughtful posts!

I used to love horse riding as well but now as a vegan I am totally with you 100% that all animals not only want to be free but deserve to be free just as much as we do. Great post! Check out my recent post on a similar topic but with elephants!

Thank you I will.

This is a new aspect, I never thought of horse ridding and horse in this way. True that every creature loves freedom and so do the horses :(

I agree with you, animals want to be free . I love every animal. And I love them free .
Great post!!!!!!

Thanks for that.

This is something I've always thought about. I have never yet had the opportunity to see a live horse but watching movies especially one involving battles like Game of Thrones, I've often wondered how the animals may feel.

Not just horses, even the tiniest animals like ants.
Once, I stepped on an ant mistakenly and I felt so bad, like the ant could have been me. I found myself asking questions like what if it was an orphan or had been starving?

Sometimes, we have to put ourselves in the position of these creatures.

Yes indeed. It is difficult at first when you take certain things for granted all your life. And grow up seeing these things in movies so you think it's normal and ok.

Great post. I never thought about that before but will probably not look at another horse being ridden the same way again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65688.41
ETH 3444.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64