Corn Soup

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

What happens when corn on the cob is on sale and it's a gloomy day threatening to rain? Corn soup happens.

corn1.jpg

I have only made corn chowder even as a vegan. I've always thought of corn soup as being creamy which I actually love but having spent last winter in Mexico, I felt like making a more Mexican-ish soup which would have some basic ingredients used in Mexican and Latin cooking.

I started by removing all of the kernels off of the fresh corn on the cob.

corn3.jpg

After that was done I put the stripped off cobs in a pot and covered them with water. They were then boiled with carrot, onion, garlic and veggie soup broth cubes and bay leaf. This was boiled then simmered for about one hour.

corn5.jpg

During this time I prepared the soup items to be sauteed and added to the finished broth.

corn.jpg

I chopped up onion, garlic, green peppers, jalapeno peppers, zucchini and carrots to add to the soup along with the corn. After the broth was strained I added the sauteed items to the clear broth along with diced tomatoes and cherry tomatoes chili powder, paprika, thyme, oregano, cumin, and fresh coriander.

corn4.jpg

I had some pre cooked corn flour that I use to make arepas with, so I used this to slightly thicken the soup. It was mixed in gradually until I got the desired thickness, which was not really too thick.

corn6.jpg

This was great garnished with green onions, coriander, lime juice, and slices of corn on the cob. It was gluten free which I try to stick to as much as possible not that I have problems but I feel that much better without high gluten intake.

corn2.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Hey @carolynstahl, are you still in Acapulco?

There seem to be some vegans going to "Anarchapulco 2019".

I just "talked" to a woman on steemit who is a vegan and she was a bit worried about the food and if vegan food was avilable, etc.

Do you have any suggestions?

/FF

Oh hi there! We had to leave in spring. We ran out of money and had to come back to Montreal to start the old grind again .
There is a vegan restaurant which is in Costa Azul called Verde Vegan and there are several chains of a restaurant called 100% Natural which offer quite a few vegan options. Also she could just ask for veggies, beans tacos and rice. The market offers fruits and veggies. There are tortilla shops everywhere. She could just get some avocados and salad to put inside. I just made my own food. As far as Acapulco being vegan friendly...well I would say not really . Cancun area was very vegan friendly. She'll get by though no problem though.
Nice hearing from you!

Thanks for the information @carolynstahl I passed it on, hope you don't mind. Mexico is a place for carnivores... So this info is valuble, maybe you should make a post about it like a guide for the vegans going to Acapulco, (Cancun is just like the US, they probably have Trader Joe's there)... =)

/FF

Yummy I hope is delicious

Thank you it was very delicious!

I love corn, and I think the corn in your picture seems very sweet.

Thank you so much I love corn as well!

My friend how are you? How is Marc? How are you doing at work and in the new apartment? Sorry I had days without greeting you
This soup is very good It has two very Venezuelan things Maize and flour for arepa, we make very good soups and we put pieces of corn and balls of dough left

Hello amiga! We are fine. The new apartment is okay but we need to buy some furniture.
Thank you for the idea of the balls. It sounds like a great idea.
I am working every night very late and Marc is very early so I don't always sleep so well but today and yesterday is pretty good.
I wish you the best!

Looks delicious.. It's hot here and I avoid cooking soup..surely, summer will slowly end anytime soon.. cheers!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much it was delicious. I really love soup even in hot weather. But I know what you mean.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74