Cauliflower Salad With Mid Eastern Spices.

in #vegan6 years ago

cau4.jpg

Today I had a day off and Marc was at work so I wanted to have something decent to eat for when he got home. I guess what I mean by decent is something filling but not too heavy. I had purchased a large cauliflower that was on sale. I really haven't eaten much cauliflower in my lifetime compared to other things. I've always thought of it as bland and unexciting. Since I've been exploring different vegan food ideas, cauliflower has been stepping more and more into my kitchen.

The last thing I did with it was bread it but today I made a salad out of it. I was going to keep it raw but changed my mind at the last minute. I was making a middle eastern spiced salad so if it would be cooked the flavors would be absorbed better. The next time I do this I will marinate the cauliflower keeping it raw.

caul.jpg

First I chopped the cauliflower in the chopper so that it would resemble a grain.

cau6.jpg

I sauteed the cauliflower with a spice mixture of cumin, coriander, ginger, nutmeg, cloves, paprika, thyme, cayenne, tumeric, sumac, and onion powder.

cau8.jpg

After setting the cauliflower mixture aside I toasted some pistachios.

cau2.jpg

I had some Pomegranates in the fridge so I opened them up and got them ready to add to the salad.

cau1.jpg

The dressing I made to toss the cauliflower in, was made from cashew butter, tahini, garlic, lemon juice, salt and pepper.

cau3.jpg

The salad was finished off with grated heirloom carrots, red onion,chopped dates, tomatoes and alfalfa sprouts. This was surprisingly filling even though it did not include any grain.


cau5.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

#yummy 🌞what a delicious salad🥗

Oh thank you very much!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-14T20:58:42
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 437.48/800.00
Total Photos: 60
Total comments: 24
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 2.61 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Very nice photos. Everything looks so delicious :)

You're too kind thank you so much!

You wellcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79