Apple Pear Strawberry Oat Breakfast Tart And A Long Walk In Montreal

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

apple2.jpg

We realized lately that it is time to get in shape so instead of having our usual breakfast which is lunch, and what I mean by that is that we rarely eat any typical breakfast. We always have whatever someone would eat as a main course. I have never been a toast and jam kind of person and when I did eat animal products I rarely ate bacon and eggs or waffles unless it was a special occasion on the weekends. Cold spaghetti usually did it for me, or even a bowl of soup.

These days we are starting to go for long walks to get the wheels inside us turning again. I have a job interview on Monday and I am scared. Not because I'm not qualified to work as a line cook but because of my age. Hopefully I will be able to convince them of my extreme endurance and ability to work fast.

In the meantime we are substituting the usual pasta or main course type breakfasts and having fruit and oats. At least yesterday we did. I wanted to make oatmeal and fruit in a different style than just in a bowl so I decided to turn the same ingredients into a tart for something different. There was no sugar in this tart except for a sauce made from melted dark chocolate, bananas, dates and cinnamon.

Starting with the crust, I mixed a bowl full of oats, ground flax, salt and just enough water to form a thick paste. It was put into a spring form then put under the top broiler in the oven. The bottom element is broken so I would have just used the oven to bake the entire thing but this worked out fine.

It wasn't in there very long, before it was nice and golden and obviously cooked.

apple1.jpg

After it was spread with date puree just for enough sweetness.

apple4.jpg

Than it was lined with the sliced Royal Gala apples and Bartlett pears and put back under the grill for about five to seven minutes.

apple5.jpg

When it came out it was centered with fresh strawberries and a few sprinkles of sunflower seeds. After a drizzle of the sauce made from, melted chocolate, banana, date puree, vanilla, almond milk, and cinnamon, breakfast was served.

apple3.jpg

My mother in law who we live with, never wants anything that we eat, but this time she actually had a piece and said she liked it. She usually never eats fruits unless there is plenty of sugar on it.

apple.jpg

This looked like desert but didn't feel like it. It was satisfying enough that we were able to set about on our journey across town to get the blood flowing to prepare for some up coming hard work. Hopefully If I get hired.

apple8.jpg

apple7.jpg

There has been so much controversy about breakfast and whether you should eat a big breakfast to kick start yourself for the day, or whether you should eat light and let your body empty itself of the last day's food.

My honest opinion based on my personal experience is that, I always feel better on a lighter start to the day. In fact we walked around twenty kilometers yesterday with a twenty minute pit stop and it was quite easy. The last few blocks on the way back are the only difficult ones.

wreath.jpg

Stopping to take a break by a man made waterfall at one of Montreal's largest and popular park, Mont Royal at Lac Du Castors. This was always one of our favorite places to go.

break.jpg

We sat on a picnic table and were joined by a seagull that had hopes of a picnic to share. It was a lost cause for him.

break7.jpg

The great thing about this park is that it has a big man made lake to enjoy and feel like you are not in a big city.

break1.jpg

And now we headed back a different way that we came, taking a trail down the mountain into the city but taking the time to enjoy the last bit of a nature hike before we hit the pavement to journey for another couple of hours until we made our way back.

break2.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Looks very tasty indeed @carolynstahl

This tart looks **GO GOOD!** Yum! 😋 I absolutely LOVE that you garnished the dish with the violet flowers! Nice touch! It's also an immensely clever idea, to use oatmeal as a crust-material for a breakfast tart! You might easily secure a job in a restaurant if you took a piece of this into the interview for a show-and-tell experience (although that might be inappropriate, I don't know... LOL). Love the pics in the park, and your write-up, as always, is great!

I thank you always for your support and encouragement! It means the world to me. Now I know it will be okay. Thanks @thekittygirl!

Congratulations! One of your previous entry last month to the Dailypetphotography was selected for the Month of Jun contest. The monthly contest closes on 8Jun. Hurry up and come and vote for your favourite three pets of the month here !!
https://steemit.com/dailypetphotography/@kona/the-monthly-selection-of-daily-pet-photography-may

Yes thank you I will!

It looks very delicious & amazing. I really appreciate to follow you with your better half :) great pictures.

That's so kind of you to say. Thank you @diemama!

Mmm a perfect way to start the day off. Would love to have a piece right now ;) Good luck!

Thank you @ nina.ser. I appreciate that!

Good luck on your interview and age does not matter. It's your enthusiasm and love for the work and if they can't see that, then it's not the right place for you. Your food always looks amazing and the breakfast tart is a fantastic idea.

Aww you are so kind. I appreciate that encouragement. Thank you so much @loveself!

Congrats on having an interview, just ask the manager to look at your blog and I a. Sure he will be more convinced to hire you!!

That some delicious and healthy alternative to start off a good day!!
Love the colour and flavour combo!!

All the best for the coming interview!!

Thanks always for your support! I am really more nervous about my age. Montreal is full of students looking for jobs so I am always the oldest one. Plus what do I say when they ask about why haven't worked since last August and that I went to Mexico for six months. Do I lie or tell them the truth. Oh boy I just don't know.

I would tell em the truth, anyway isn't your reason because you want spend some time off for yourself? I think it's pretty common and understandable.
Lying can bite you back in the ass one day, would not want that to happen.

Age = experience, make age your strength, find a reason why greater age is better.

Supporting ,It's the least I can do!

Okay that's good. Truth is the way I will go. Thanks for the advice!!!!

Hope to hear the good d news from you!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-02T16:35:54
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 320.48/400.00
Total Photos: 42
Total comments: 24
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63834.78
ETH 2627.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78