Superfoods! Please eat these at least twice week.....

in #vegan8 years ago

Superfoods? What are you taking about? ..... I am talking about foods that your body needs to stay running at optimum levels. Foods that help fight off those pesky free radicals that try to damage our cells and cause havoc. So let's take a look at Kale; one of my favorite super foods, an antioxidant superstar. It is packed with vitamin C and beta carotene and has been rated as having a high ORAC (oxygen radical absorbance capacity). The ORAC measures the foods ability to scavenge free radicals. And we want those free radicals gone!

Another one of my favorite superfoods is red cabbage! An excellent source of vitamin K, vitamin C, and vitamin B6. One thing I particularly like about it is its a great source of fiber. It''ll keep things "moving" along. I love to chop it in my food processor and mix in some chopped carrots with dried cranberries, a little olive oil and salt and pepper. Very delicious and nutritious! 

My latest creation has been half an avocado with garlic, salt, lime juice, and quinoa! So healthy and so good! Try out these creations and let me know what you think!



Sort:  

The post visualized :)

Upvoted you

I just may have tried and enjoyed some of your tasty healthy creations!

I have Kale in the crisper at the moment. It seems to last quite a long time and it costs all of 99 cents for one big bundle. I pull out a leaf, wash it off, and munch on it while some other part of my meal is cooking.

Cabbage is another winner! I buy bags of raw cole slaw with 2 kinds of cabbage and carrots, and eat that out of the bag. Sometimes I cook it because I hear there is something in raw cabbage that somehow affects the thyroid. Probably nothing for most people to worry about, but since I eat it raw almost every day, I am now reminded to look into this!

Thanks for this post about healthy eating, with specific examples that I agree with!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63153.76
ETH 3045.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97