To Vegan or not to Vegan that is the question?

in #vegan7 years ago

thumbnail_Image.jpg

Sat here tucking into my Raw Vegan Lasagne I am thoroughly enjoying this health food and vegan movement that is happening.

I am very happy that people are starting to look at the source of their food, the ethical treatment of animals that has brought the food to the plate and the effect that it is having on our bodies and world.

I appreciate my upbringing in the countryside, yes we ate meat but we chose it from the farm behind our house, there was never any question of where our food came from, we could see and were aware of the process. Sadly I know that there is often a big disconnect between the source and the plate.

NB: I believe this upbringing is one reason why no one in my family has any food allergies. -But I will save that for another post.

To go fully Vegan?

I have tried going fully Vegan and the following comes up for me:

  1. I am not good at restrictions - as soon as someone (including myself) tells me not to do something, it is all I want to do!

  2. Sometimes you are put in situations where the Vegan option is not always the healthy one. As @daltono said, Oreos are Vegan!

  3. Not everyone is aware and onboard with Veganism yet and they may cook, bake and create food full of love and want to share with this you. This may not be vegan but it surely is nourishing for the soul.

If i have to label it, I am therefore thinking of myself as a… flexitarian.

Everything in my household is Vegan, however, when I am eating outside of my house I will assess each situation as it comes.
If the only Vegan option is not healthy then I wont choose it, if I see someone eating a poached egg and my body craves it then I will listen to my body and order a poached egg. If (as I was) pushing myself physically and cycling the back roads of Thailand and my body is asking for a change to stir-fried vegetables and rice, I will be open to eating something different.

I try to be aware, to choose the most nourishing option and live by my own flexible rules.

I also know that this stance will change in the future, as with everything our relationship with food is a journey!

Please tell me your views, vegan or not

Namaste
x

Sort:  

I can't imagine myself going all vegan, but I COULD be in the future - who knows! 😆But I do agree that you must be fully aware of where your food comes from. That's why people are starting to campaign on sustainable yard vegetable gardening. In this way, you know well what you're eating and where it came from.

Regarding your question, to vegan or not to vegan, it depends. 😄 I guess I'll be flexitarian like yourself.

Thank you for your response, I’m so happy to hear other people are on the journey.
I totally agree with you and also growing your own plants is nourishing in more ways than the food you eat, putting in the effort and watching them grow is fantastic (if they survive). I currently only have a small balcony in my city flat so I have managed a small herb garden. But when I make the move back to the countryside I will certainly be growing some veg.
Thanks
Namaste x

Thanks for sharing this. So similar to my story, I'd always have everything vegan at home, but very flexible when eating outside. At the moment I'm preparing for a silent meditation and we have strict 60 day vegan diet and no onion, garlic, pepper and to be honest I sometimes feel so pissed at the fact that all I can eat at some places is like water! At that point even meat starts looking good hahah (even though I haven't touched it for the past 4 years). So there are ups and downs and also looking not just into being this or that but also is is self sustainable? Can it be done long term, so as for me, at home for long term yes, when I go out alone Yes, if I want to hang out with other people who are not vegans and also eat something the answer is vegetarian (at least here in Panama City). Bon apetit :)

Thanks for your message. I am really interested in your silent meditation, is it 60 days long? or is that the preparation? It is also fascinating how what we eat doesn't just affect our body but also our minds.
Namaste x

The preparation time is 60 days and it includes kriya practices (yoga postures, breathing & chanting), strict vegan diet and no onion, garlic, alcohol, coffee, tea etc. any non-pranic food. Then the meditation itself is 7 days of silence. That's next week :)

Wow, good luck, please let me know how it goes.
I recently went on the 10 day vipassana silent meditation, it was eye opening, I really learnt a lot about myself and the power of the mind.
Enjoy x

Thanks for commenting on my picture and asking if it was taken at Vikasa! I decided to drop by and just followed you! I love the eggs in Vikasa, so i guess, it's a little hard for me to go vegan haha =)

Haha yes, I also loved the vegan pancakes, I’m sure I ate to many of those each breakfast time.
Small world the Yoga world!
Thanks for the follow, looking forward to some more Yoga pics x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62269.38
ETH 2424.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58