You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "veganism" from a vegan's perspective

in #vegan6 years ago

My girlfriend made the move to vegetarianism when we went on our trip out west to Vancouver Island, it all started with a pact to not go to mcdonalds the whole trip and it transformed into vegetarianism and striving for a form of veganism. Dairy products really mess with her complexion because of the hormones the cows are fed we figure.
As for my self I've had a bit more trouble with the transition but am slowly making progress one day at a time. After watching so many documentaries on how the food industry is run that's all I really need to think of to be disgusted by a piece of processed animal on my plate. Include the fact that my doctor has me on a low sodium diet, meat is really not that great of an option for me anyways since most of it is processed with a bunch of extra salt as a preservative(along with almost any non raw food).
Which brand of vegan cheese do you use? I'm not a big fan of the Freyda brand,its not bad but something puts me off of it. We don't have, much for options on meat and cheese substitutes where is live so we usually have to go to the city and even then it can sometimes be a challenge. Although I am noticing a more and more options as time goes on.

Sort:  

So awesome. Making progress is really where it's at. My buddy DISL Automatic calls it "getting big" when the progress is toward more consciousness, such as with changing how we eat/buy/dress/consume. It's very very hard to go all at once, even if you've seen "the videos" (or even visited a slaughterhouse in operation). Meat is part of our culture, our history, every part of our society. It's wrong, but that's how it is, so going against that is going against the tide. That's why I have big love and respect for anyone doing it! Just keep on your path, make the changes that make sense to you, as you continue to learn and understand the meat industry, nutrition, spirituality, and so on. Whatever path you're on, at least cutting back is a first step. That's reducing the amount of harm you're doing... it doesn't take a lot of effort on our part sometimes to save a few lives, to prevent a month of suffering. And even if you're not doing it "for the animals", doesn't matter, there are many valid reasons. I know and have talked to quite a few doctors and researchers, including high level nutritionists, and a LOT of them end up vegan. Not because of the animals, but because they're intelligent people who have access to the information, and it tells them a plant based lifestyle is the healthiest and most logical. Even if you hate other animals and think they should all suffer and die. :p (not suggesting you're that way lol)
I don't know if you have Daiya there but it's excellent. They've continually upgraded all their products over the past few years, not that they were bad to begin with. Their cheeses are great. They don't use palm oil, which for vegans is kind of important because most palm oil is grown in unsustainable farms created by burning down orangutan habitats. They use far healthier and more nutritious (and ethical) fats. Blocks, slices, shreds. I've tried a few others that were decent but Daiya takes my vote right now. I have a feeling they're just regional though so you may not have access :(
I usually skip meat substitutes like "tofurkey" or whatever the hell it is. When I need to replace meat, I ask myself what about the meat am I after? Is it the protein and iron? Beans, peas etc do a good job at that. Or the texture? Go for mushrooms, nuts, avocado, etc. If it's the FLAVOUR of the meat I'm after, well, to be honest I've kind of lost my appetite for that taste.
Except some seafood, like prawns. Strangely I still like a good garlic prawn. I also don't find the idea of certain birds meat unappealing. If I was a wild human and I caught a bird, yeah I'd probably roast and eat it. But in modern society, no, I don't want any bird. And certainly no mammal, the idea makes me do a little involuntary squirm to be honest! No appetite for my fellow mammals anymore.
One note on taste. Some "meat' tastes are actually not from the meat at all, they're from everything we DO to the meat. Marinades, rubs, roasting juices, bbq sauce, salt, pepper, garlic, and so on, it's all vegan. Occasionally I'll make something plant based I can cook that way or put some bbq sauce on. Hits the spot all the same :)
Holy shite I can ramble!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59926.69
ETH 2622.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38