I need more vegans and anarchists in my life.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #vegan7 years ago

I need more vegans and anarchists in my life.
Anyone out there know any vegans or anarchists who may wanna connect on social media?
If so, please tag them or connect me with them somehow. Thank you. :)

Sort:  

Hey hey! I'm an anarchist (or something like that... I think the ideal/utopian system has no government, but I also think some government may be necessary for some things because we live in an imperfect world), and I've only been vegan for about a month (at the moment I'm planning to stick with it, but I can't speak for whether I'll keep it up in the future), but I've been vegetarian for 4 years.

Hey! Nice to meet you vecna. I also agree some government may be necessary for a while or maybe even forever and it might be human nature, so sometimes I identify as a minarchist which means as lil government as possible if you didn't know. But.. I still think maybe Anarchy is possible and I think that's a great goal to strive for even if it seems unlikely sometimes.

Cool to hear you've been a vegan for a month! Do you mind if I ask what made you decide to go that route? And also the vegetarian route? Is it health or moral reasons or a combination or something else?

PS I followed you on here as well.

For me, it's a moral thing. I've thought about it quite a lot, and I decided that I don't think eating meat or using animal byproducts in general is immoral. Certainly the industries that produce them are terrible, but at the basic level, I think it's completely justifiable to end another animal's life to lengthen your own. That said, I definitely think it's a better choice to rely as little on those kinds of things as possible. I decided this about four years ago after talking to a friend really got me thinking, and I decided that because I was in a position where I could go vegetarian (I don't live in a household that only eats meat, I don't have allergies that would make it very difficult to function on a vegetarian diet, etc.) I should go vegetarian. It was the right choice for me. It wasn't an incredibly difficult thing in my situation, so I felt like I should make that change.

My living situation changed very recently, and (long story short) I'm now preparing my own food where in the past I was generally not doing so. I decided that since I was finding my own food anyway, this was the perfect time to choose what's in it and take the step to go vegan. I don't know if I'll stick with it (and it makes it incredibly difficult to eat out), but for now it's a good choice for me. I'm considering going back to vegetarian, but only cooking vegan food (vegan food at home, vegetarian food at restaurants) or something like that. There were also some health motivations, but I don't know that much about health, and that part was more along the lines of, "Hm, maybe this will be good for me." The main thing for me is morality.

What about for you? What were your motivations?

that's me! follow me

Word. :) I followed you. Will take a look at your page in a lil bit when I get a chance.

I'm vegan but I consider myself more of a minarchist

Awesome. That's close enough. I sometimes also identify as a minarchist. Assuming we are doing the whole government thing it might as well be as small as reasonably possible.

Well, am vegan but don't term myself as an anarchist yet. But would love to connect anyway.

Word! That's fine. I don't necessarily expect to find people who are both. But in the end they are very similar ideals, so I tend to get along with both of those kinds of people usually! I gave you a follow. Cheers.

Whasup brother. Veagan here, no so much into anarchism but happy to connect.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55400.25
ETH 2294.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33