Vegan Propaganda -- don't fall for it

in #vegan7 years ago

vegan.png
Confession. I was a vegetarian for 17 years and, within that time, endured 2 extended periods of veganism. The PETA propaganda and gory videos swayed me. I became a vegangelist, one of those vegan bores. I liked to lecture everyone on how morally superior I was by refusing to exploit these delicious animals. Bought the books, went to veggie events, judged other people's trolleys in supermarkets, walked around in sweaty fake-leather shoes, that sort of thing. Meh... I was young and foolish. But at least I didn't get the V tattoo.

Long story short -- I got very sick. I was in constant pain, developed depression, anxiety, brain fog, exhaustion and could never get to a healthy weight. Yeah, I was a fat and unhealthy vegan/vegetarian and took a lot of medication.

fat.png

Near the end of my vegetarian journey, I got huge cravings to eat meat, which I suppressed for about 6 months.

One day, I caught myself drawn to the beef that was bubbling away in a stew on the stove. The smell was overwhelming, hypnotic. I could no longer suppress my desire. I succumbed. It was one of the most exhilarating moments in my life. The rush was amazing. My body felt so energised and there was a surge of happiness. It was weird, like I'd discovered a new drug. I had; it's called Nutrition. I continued to fish out lumps of beef and stuff them in my face until the craving passed.

Afterwards, I sat facing my bookshelf with its long row of judgy vegan books and pamphlets. I thought I'd feel a tinge of guilt or even shame, but no. I felt good for the first time in years. Regardless, there must have been some residual self-hatred, which spurred me to read articles from the other side -- meat eaters -- probably to give myself permission to continue eating meat.

Then came anger. Anger at the years of deprivation and misery endured for this cause, this fake cause. I felt angry at the vegan liars.
anger.png

What I learned:

  • meat, especially good quality organic, is a safe and nutritious food. Most independent farmers love and care properly for their animals and do everything they can to keep them healthy and happy. The farmers feed, shelter, protect and care for these animals -- it's a symbiotic relationship.

  • grains are not a good source of nutrition. They require heavy processing and cause damage to our bodies.

  • human bodies are not designed to properly process nutrients from vegetable plant foods. We just don't have a long enough intestine to give the bacteria time to break the veg into anything useful. Even gorillas have to eat their own shit to obtain nutrients from the veg! I was a pretty hardcore vegan but I'm pretty sure I wouldn't have gone that far.

  • the food safety departments and health organisations give out false information about optimal nutrition. It's almost as though they want us to be brain-addled zombies who need to take expensive medication for life. Hmm.

  • most processed food is loaded with carbs which cause havoc in the body.

  • soy feminises men. Over time, testosterone drops, dicks shrink, boobs grow and you'll get a girl's voice.

  • growing vegetarian food causes great damage to local wildlife. Many animals die so you can grow soy. And the chemicals they use poison the soil.

  • raw milk is really good for you and helps heal the gut.

Finally, after 2 years back on meat, I am without pain, 50lbs lighter, got a clear brain, no depression, no anxiety and don't need to take prescribed medication. Meat cured me.

If you fully unpack the so-called scientific proof these vegans spout out, you'll see they're cherry picking, not mentioning or playing down data that goes against their belief system. Unfortunately, many social media platforms are geared to push the vegan agenda to the forefront, making it difficult for anyone seeking the truth. On UselessTube you'll just be fed the party political bullshit while the core scientific content gets to wallow on death row, many pages down in the search results (if at all).

Vegan activists have been known to target independent farms. Easy pickings. Putting these guys out of business does not protect animals. It does the opposite. These farmers will sell their stock to the big processing food guys who are more likely to confine, drug and abuse these animals. It's just stupidity to think you're helping.

Personally, I don't care if you are/aren't vegan -- eat whatever you want -- just don't fuck with my way of eating.

Sort:  

Congratulations @anjkara! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The most bizarre part about being human is the realization that you must eat life. There is no option to eat inanimate objects like rocks or something. I know personally, I feel at my best when I'm eating a low carb diet full of meat and veggies. I admire the impulse to eliminate the suffering of animals.

Yes, we're the only creatures who feel empathy for our food. We're nice like that. Still gotta eat it though. Low-carb: I'm low-carbing too. Feels good :D

awesome story anjkara,even though i was mainly plant based which most people are eating bread etc i still maintained a high butter intake and still ate meat but not alot

Hiyaaaaa Peter! Welcome to Steemit. You finally got approved. Yayyyyy!

Are you still mainly plant based? I made a scouse tonight (beef stew) but ate only the meat. Gone off veg :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66930.79
ETH 3268.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64