🎥 VIDEO | JICAMA COCONUT OREO COOKIES FOR @VEGAN.NIINJA'S B-DAY 🎥

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)


Yesterday was @vegan.niinja's B-day. Although she asked me for a birthday smoothie, she is simply too amazing to get her something as simple as a green drink.

If you haven't heard she is hosting a #happybirthdaycontest. Check out her post HERE for more info.

Though I know she is on a sugar-free mission, this recipe contains a little organic, raw palm sugar produced locally in Cambodia. So I hope she will forgive me this one-time birthday indulge moment @vegan.niinja 😋

Before we dive into the recipe and video, for all of you who haven't heard about jicama let me introduce you to this wonderful forgotten root vegetable. Jicama (pronounced HEE-kah-ma) - aka yam bean, Mexican turnip, or Mexican potato - has a yellow and papery outer skin and the inside has a crisp texture that resembles a raw potato or pear. The flavor is starchy and sweet, reminiscent of some apples or raw green beans. See pic below!

Jicama.jpg

JICAMA COCONUT OREO COOKIES - THE RECIPE


Ingredients (makes 26 oreos)


For the filling


  • 1/2 cup desiccated coconut
  • 1.5 cups grated jicama
  • 1/2 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 1/4 cup raw sugar
  • Pinch of salt

For the cookies


  • 1 1/3 cups raw almonds
  • 3/4 cup dates
  • 1/4 cup goji berries
  • 1/4 cup raw cacao powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1-3 tbsp water

FYI: I had a little jicama filling left so I rolled them into small balls, froze them for a little while until cooled and then coated them with a mixture of coconut oil and raw cacao.


To make the recipe a little more festive, I served it with a homemade fresh mint, cardamon, cinnamon, green tea and some of the jicama leftover balls.


Here are a few more pics of the end result.

DSC_0074.JPG

jicama-cookie-2.jpg

jicama-cookie-3.jpg

jicama-cookie-6.jpg

jicama-cookie-7.jpg

Happy Birthday girl. I hope you had an amazing time with your loved ones. I had some friends over for tea and we celebrated in your honor ღ ღ ღ


signature-new.png


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s)/VIDEO TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600


LET'S CONNECT!

Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


FYI: For green smoothie tips, tricks, and recipes, download my FREE green smoothie eBook HERE!

DQmeghPGYhwUy1Bafh4LpeqbRKFykxNwtufJxJtMCCuCNom.gif


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Looks so yummy and tasty . Like that . Stay blessed dear.

Thanks. We loved them. Have a great day!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 6.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.23
Server time: 17:52:05
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 960.01/1600.00
Total Photos: 102
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 0.36 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

There you go blowing my mind with a jicama dessert again!! These look so much better than regular oreos! I'm definitely keeping this in mind to try soon. Yum yum yum! :)

They sure are. Jicama is so cheap here so definitely looking for more ways to use it. Is it easy to come by in the States? Never seen it in Belgium when I lived there. I hope you get to try them. We absolutely loved them.

I can usually find jicama. Though usually the cashiers have no clue what it is when I bring it to the checkout. I haven't had any in a while, so this may be a good excuse to get some. :)

I love it in salads or stir-fries too. Enjoy ;)

I've never had a dessert with jicama! What a great idea as a filling with coconut. Wish I could eat one or two with my coffee right now.

Hehe. Wish I had some left to send to you ;) They are so good with tea or coffee.

Wow! These cookies looks so delicious!i want to participate in her birthdaycontest , but I don’t have a time to look for vegan food, because if I know before I can look for a good recipe, unfortunately these days am so busy.
Have great day.

Same here. Busy busy busy! Today we are looking at 8-10 locations for bakery and coffee/smoothie shop. Exciting. Hope we find something soon!

You are such a sweet friend! I love this use for Jicama, I didn't know how to prepare it, and to think I could make something this wonderful, Yay!! Thank you, can't wait to try your recipe.

I love jicama. So cheap here. It is super nice in salads or stir-fries too. reminds me of an apple.

I must have gotten an old Jicama...it didn't have any taste at all...maybe I'll have to try another.

Wow Amy, this is simply amazing!!! You have done such a great work with that video and I really wish I could have a whole bunch of the jicama coconut OREO COOKIES!!!

Thank you from bottom of my heart for your words and this beautiful entry to my contest, I am speechless!! You have really overdone yourself this time;) So much work and the best recipe I can imagine!!!

Wish I could send you some! I am so glad you like them and had a nice day with your loved ones at home. Enjoyed making this video ;) Hope to find some time in the future to make some more. Enjoy the rest of the week!

I hope to see more videos from you my dear Amy!!

I loved making it so def more to come!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43