MATCHA CHIA POWER CUPS | PLANT POWER COOKING 🧁🍵

in #vegan3 years ago

Matcha-chia-power-cups-18.jpg

The first and only time I ever tasted matcha powder before was at Backyard Cafe in Phnom Penh… a matcha cashew latte. It was horrible! So I never tried it again, until now and I must say I started to appreciate its flavor.

I think they just added too much of the powder in their latte when I had it. It was so bitter and odd-tasting! Not nice at all. However, in this dessert I created matcha powder gives a supple green flavor that combines very well with the homemade cacao nibs and chocolate sauce.

You can definitely expect more matcha recipes soon. Not only because I paid $15 for this small package, but because I actually like the flavor. I am so happy I got to try it again.

Matcha-chia-power-cups-21.jpg

Matcha-chia-power-cups-13.jpg

MATCHA CHIA POWER CUPS


Ingredients (makes 6 muffin-sized power cups)


For the crust


  • 1-2 T extra virgin coconut oil
  • ½ cup walnuts
  • ¾ cup dates, pitted
  • Pinch of Himalayan pink salt

Matcha-chia-power-cups-1.jpg

For the filling


  • 1.5-2 t matcha powder
  • ½ cup pistachio milk
  • 1 cup cashews
  • 2 T maple or agave syrup
  • Juice of half a lime
  • 2 T chia seeds
  • ¼ cup cacao nibs

Matcha-chia-power-cups-5.jpg

FYI: I used pistachio milk because a friend gave it to me but any plant milk will do. Don’t you love it when friends give you food! I sure do. Though I like to make my own nut milk without any preservatives, I thought it was kind of sweet of my friend to give me this with the words….”Hey I found something that you will definitely like AND it says unsweetened and REAL pistachio milk! That’s why I bought it for you!”

Matcha-chia-power-cups-4.jpg

Chocolate decoration


FYI: ever since I bought cacao beans in Mondulkiri I have been making my own cacao nibs and chocolate. But you can use store-bought cacao and vegan chocolate for this.

If you want to see how I like to make bean-to-bar chocolate you can read about it in my previous post: 🍫 FROM BEAN TO BAR - HOW TO MAKE CHOCOLATE AT HOME 🍫

Simply explained, to make the cacao nibs, you roast the beans first, then peel them and pulse them in the blender to make cacao nibs.

For the 100% cacao chocolate sauce, just keep grinding the cacao nibs (I use a coffee grinder for this) until you're left with a chocolate sauce. It goes through the stages of being a powder, then a sticky mess, followed by a highly delicious liquid chocolate sauce. To make real chocolate bars, this chocolate sauce is then tempered - usually, sugar and milk are added - and poured into a mold to set.

I just like it 100% cacao, so I use it straight away. I always have roasted and peeled cacao beans available in my fridge, so whenever I need chocolate sauce, I take some out and grind them until I have a liquid consistency. So good!

IMG_20200901_145852.jpg

IMG_20200901_150223.jpg

IMG_20200901_150308.jpg

IMG_20200901_150609.jpg

IMG_20200901_150803.jpg

IMG_20200901_165127.jpg

Directions


Add all crust ingredients to a blender and process until it all sticks together. You don’t want to over blend as you want to keep some texture in the crust.

Matcha-chia-power-cups-2.jpg

Divide the mixture over the cups and firmly push down. Let set in the freezer while you make the filling.

Matcha-chia-power-cups-3.jpg

Add all ingredients, except the cacao nibs, to a blender. Process until smooth. Fold in the cacao nibs and pour into the cups. Let set in the fridge or freezer for a few hours. The chia seeds, cashews, and coconut oil will help set the filling. I like to put mine in the freezer as they are then easier to take out of the molds.

Matcha-chia-power-cups-6.jpg

Matcha-chia-power-cups-9.jpg

Matcha-chia-power-cups-11.jpg

When hardened, add your chocolate sauce in a piping bag or use a spoon to drizzle. I used a piping bag. Pipe/drizzle chocolate on top. If you took yours out of the freezer too, allow them to thaw for 15-30 minutes (depending on your room temperature) before serving!

Matcha-chia-power-cups-10.jpg

Matcha-chia-power-cups-12.jpg

Here in Cambodia, it's so hot that my cups were perfectly thawed when I was finished taking pics.

Matcha-chia-power-cups-15.jpg

Matcha-chia-power-cups-16.jpg

Matcha-chia-power-cups-19.jpg

Matcha-chia-power-cups-14.jpg

Matcha-chia-power-cups-20.jpg

WISHING YOU ALL A HAPPY AND HEALTHY DAY ღ ღ ღ


signature-new.png


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!

PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH GOOGLE PIXEL 3 XL


LET'S CONNECT!


Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


🥑🍓🍆 FIND MORE YUMMY PLANT-BASED CREATIONS BELOW 🥑🍓🍆

FROM SEED TO SPONGE - HOW TO GROW LOOFAH SPONGES AT HOME

100% PLANT-BASED BROCCOLI HEMP BURGERS

WILD FERMENTATIONS - 100% RYE SOURDOUGH STARTER

APPLE CIDER VINEGAR QUICK PICKLE


DQmeghPGYhwUy1Bafh4LpeqbRKFykxNwtufJxJtMCCuCNom.gif

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmoBZUcHz58m3pP6QX7KjeCNfAsekinuSbJ8Snb8X4RZ5GchCZ7iRBkBC.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57653.41
ETH 3122.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41