How to find vegan options while traveling the world - Our secrets.

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Earlier, I used to struggle a lot to find vegan food while traveling.
It is so very confusing to order special food without this and that, in a city where they mostly speak the native language. Especially when it is a language that you don't know.

I have found myself trying to explain what vegan actually means to restaurant personnel without a clue too many times.

"No fish, no meat, no egg, no milk, no butter, no ghee, no Yoghurt, no cheese"

Sometimes they get it right ahead, and sometimes it takes 35 minutes to order.

7a409fd1ca.jpg

When I travel, I like to try restaurants that have local and authentic food. And I love to share my finds with fellow vegans; Sometimes there are hidden pearls that have the most amazing vegan food, in the place you would least expect it. Let's share those places with each other!

Happycow is one of the most genius websites/apps. It lets you find vegan & vegetarian options everywhere!



w984xxfaj7.jpg

Some of the reasons why I love this app:

  • You can find vegan & vegetarian restaurants, cafes, health stores etc. anywhere in the world!

  • They have a search option where you can either search by location, the name of city, or restaurant name.

  • You can use it without having to log in.

  • Anyone can easily sign up and list places, so it is growing all the time!

  • You don't need the pro version, the free version works just as great to find new places.

Click here or at the any of the pictures to be redirected to happycow.net

You can find vegan options in bigger cities like Oslo, Berlin, and Prague:

w984xxfaj7.jpg

Or the smallest villages like Castelo Branco in Portugal:

q691p5wrwh.jpg


V-Cards! Another awesome and handy thing to check out."!



It's a small card you can have on your phone or print and show to the waiter/waitress. It explains in a few simple lines what vegan is, and what we don't eat.

It's free, and available in 83 different languages. So you are almost ensured to find a language that is spoken in the place of your next travel.

Click here or at the any of the pictures to be redirected to Vcards!

mh6bd7oaxf.jpg

The card looks like this:

oh00fuev24.jpg

We hope this inspires you to try out some new vegan food on your next travel!

Or maybe there is a hidden gem in your local area that you don't know about yet?


🌱 Love and light, Emilie / @umulius - Ambrosia crew.🌱


Logo liten.png

We are 'Ambrosia ~ vegan food and herbal healing.'
A small group of passionate beings with a burning desire to both share and gain more wisdom about nature, our bodies, and how they connect.
With our traveling vegan cafe, we are looking to accomplish many things, you can read more about our vision in our introduction post.

~Here is a link to our Facebook-page. ~

🌱Leave a comment or follow us if you wish to support our vision. 🌱

926af2538724677040b80e77c36271ea-flower-life-sacred-geometry-by-vexels.png

Sort:  

I love to use HappyCow whenever I'm traveling, but V-Cards is something I haven't heard of before. Sounds really useful, I think I'll have to download it the next time I'll go abroad! :)

Happycow is genius, I found vegan options listed there in a small village in India even. 😁

And V-cards is also super awesome, it makes it so much easier, and the restaurant personell seems to be happy that I try to be understood in their language! @jasmink

Great, thank you.

I'm doing my research at the moment, before turning vegan on New Years Day (that's the plan), so I need to know about resources like these.

I had heard of HappyCow before (but needed the reminder, thanks), but never VCards - both will be very useful, I'm sure.

I love to try local, authentic food whenever I travel too - especially street food. And I can imagine what a nightmare it's going to be finding vegan options when I don't speak the language very well (or at all). So, both of these will be perfect.

It makes me so happy to hear that you intend to go vegan. You deserve a big thank you from our planet and the animals!

Feel free to ask any questions about veganism, recipes, or anything that helps you on your vegan journey.

It took me 2 years to go fully plant based, but today I see it as it one of the most important choices I did to take care of my self and open up!

Both these apps are genius, and very helpful to maintain a plant based diet while traveling.

@minimalish 😊

Such a helpful post! I use happy cow already and as a raw vegan I can even search for places that have raw options available, which is so helpful for me.

I've heard about the V-card concept before, but never actually stumbled across the name of it - thanks for the great advice! ☺️

@rawadventuress Yes I have seen that you can select a raw option on happycow, it's genious! And the same goes for V-cards.

Thanks for the kind words - Love your blog. ^_^

Thank you so much! 💚☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48