You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Situation with veganism in Russia.

in #vegan7 years ago

wow what a great perspective. I have a couple of questions. In Alaska we have many American- Russians (that came over when they outlawed religion there) in our fishery's . They all have these amazing calender's. Beautiful art work and they break down what can be eaten on what days. Even no cooking with oil days. I found it so fascinating. So does Russia have Amazon? I know they are carrying a lot of dairy-free vegan products. I lived in Berkeley California for about 20 years before moving to Pittsburgh, PA. I understand the very sneaky was that people just add items and do not think"that" counts. What about during the times that the products are in the store can you double or triple up on buying them while they are available on the store's shelves? Or can you grow item use to make said products if even small batches? And id the treatment of the animals the issue can you not buy from local framers who treat their animals with respect and provide antibiotic free animal products? All just question I find it quite fascinating. I cannot wait to see what you deliver next. Thank you for joining us here in steemit land. I hope you have an amazing day.

Sort:  

wow, what a big message, thanl you for support!

So you know a lot about the Lent already, even more than me (on which days oils are not allowed, for example), cause I don't observe the official Lent (not religious).

Yeah, as I said in another comment, I stock on mayonnaise during the Lent, I could also stock on sem0prepared meals, but this is not the point, I'm ok with cooking the meals from scratch, but Lent also provides with comfortable eating-out.

I cannot order things from Amazon, but there is an analogical site - iHerb, from which I order some fun things like Nutritional Yeast and Dry maple sirup)

But as for growing myself, uhhh... I don't think I can handle it! but I already grow green onion sprouts on the ceiling!))

Buying from local farmers who treat animals well... First, I don't think that animals grown for food or for profit could be treated as sentient beings, they are just a commodity for their owners. They're not even recognized as "pets". And even if they live a life relatively free of suffering, they will still have the same end - head chopped. My dad used to get chickens in his backyard. He promised me to treat them humanely. But as they grew up he chopped all the males, leaving just one to fertilize the eggs. And after 2 years when they stopped laying eggs, they were all chopped without pity. That was painful( And the same goes about local farmer's cows, the same destiny, and their calves are taken for slaughter just the same way :(

I see well we each have to live our own truth. I have to say very well done hope you have an amazing day .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64009.58
ETH 2760.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65