Vanlife Spot Finder Update

in #vanlife6 years ago

zdQFpDT - Imgur.png

Blue circles are gyms, red circles are campsites. The campsites are only displayed if they are within the specified radius of a gym, in this case 10 miles. The distance is as the crow flies, not road distance for now. Currently, I only have data for Washington state. I scraped campsite data from freecampsites.net and Campendium. I also scraped Anytime Fitness gym locations from their website. The scraping is pretty flakey and doesn't work all the time, but I was able to get the data. Campendium is also weird in that it only returns up to 100 results and uses a map based navigation which makes getting all of the data challenging. I am currently only using a subset of that data. I also currently only have a subset of gyms because some of the coordinates were geocoded incorrectly. I'll work on getting it cleaned up and post a demo you can play with. Stay tuned. Thoughts and suggestions welcome.

Sort:  

Good work, even on an empirical basis you would expect more gyms than campsites. This confirms.

The campsites are filtered to within 10 miles of a gym so in that case, ya, since they tend to be in cities. Overall, there are a lot more campsites than gyms, only sixty something gyms and like five hundred free campsites in Washington based on the data I'm using.

I'm looking into having it recommend areas to check out even if there is no campsite data. For example, if there is a national forest boundary where free camping is allowed within the specified distance of a gym, show that. Then you could look more closely at those areas for roads with pull offs and stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30