Something Else To Add To My List Of Car Problems

in #vanlife7 years ago

IMG_20180227_124022.jpg

Last night I was backing out of a parking spot and pulled out in front of a truck that was in my blind spot. The truck bumped into me and put a nice dent in the back corner of my car. The truck didn't have any damage.

I'm not one to be too concerned with cosmetic damage but there are a few problems I see with respect to stealth camping. First, it draws attention. Although my NY license plate in a sea of California plates arguably already does this. Another problem is that it can raise suspicion of the driver. What kind of shady character drives a dented up vehicle, haha. Granted it's not anywhere near as bad as some of the post-apocalyptic looking shitboxes I see around these parts.

Having a respectable looking vehicle goes a long way in not having people become suspicious of you. My vehicle is less respectable looking and thus potentially more suspicious. That is never a good thing when you're trying to stealth camp.

Sort:  

Oh, that little dent is nothing. Not like the bumper is hangin' off. A clean car goes further to allay suspicion.

Thanks man

Bummer about the bumper dude. Looks like it's just the plastic, so it might pop out with some persuasion. Did you ever get that CV joint looked at?

You're right, it is just the plastic. Didn't even realize that. I can't really get my arm up in there because the muffler is right in the way. Maybe I can find some kind of rod or something to stick up there to push on it. My ice scraper was a little too short. Otherwise, I guess I could take the bumper off, not sure how difficult that is.

Haven't had the CV joint looked at. Still getting noise when turning and getting a lot of exhaust system noise, something is rattling.

Congratulations @vanarchist! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63277.21
ETH 2487.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71