Ptarmigan Ridge

in #vanlife6 years ago (edited)

I've been waiting for the last couple weeks for the weather to cooperate to head up to Ptarmigan Ridge. The wildfire smoke was creating a haze and then clouds rolled in. There is still a bit of haze and the heat wave is back, but it cleared up so I decided to give it a shot. I heard that there were some significant snow fields and an ice axe might be necessary but I went without one hoping for the best. If I could traverse the snow fields, my goal was to try and climb Coleman Pinnacle which is the peak to the right of Mt Baker in the image below.

IMG_20180807_142311.jpg

On the way out from the trailhead at Artist Point, you can see Mt Shuksan to the left. The whole hike is out in the open which is both good and bad. The good is that there are always amazing views, it's actually a bit of a sensory overload to take in. The bad is that there is no shade and given that it was like 90 degrees in full sun, it's easy to overheat. In fact, someone out on the trail collapsed from heat exhaustion.

IMG_20180807_131121.jpg

Although largely rocky and somewhat barren on the trail, there are areas with streams from melting snow and wildflowers.

IMG_3899.JPG

IMG_3906.JPG

IMG_3892.JPG

I was able to traverse all of the snow fields and make it the 4 miles out to Coleman Pinnacle. There were pretty good foot holds in the snow from previous hikers that made it passable. However, if you lost your footing and started to slide there were some areas where you would be in major trouble. Below is a shot of Mt Baker and Coleman Pinnacle from the other side of the ridge.

IMG_3919.JPG

Unfortunately, I wasn't able to climb Coleman Pinnacle. I underestimated how much water I needed to carry and was just about out by the time I got out there. Reluctantly, I decided to head back as it would not be a smart idea to be out in that heat doing strenuous hiking with no water and I was already somewhat dehydrated and feeling the heat.

On the way back I spotted some pluming clouds in the distance, almost looked liked a volcano erupting (or at least what I imagined it might look like, haha).

IMG_3874.JPG

Once I got back to the trailhead, I packed up and took off in search of shade as there is none at Artist Point and it was way too hot. I headed a few miles down the road to a national forest road. It had some fairly deep ruts but I was able to zigzag my way around them and not get stuck. I scouted out a couple spots but the ones in the heavily wooded areas had way too many flies. I ended up staying at a more cleared out area where the bugs weren't as bad. The only downsides were it was a bit more exposed and people left used toilet paper all over the place. However, it had a good view of Mt Shuksan as you can see. The stars were amazing out there as well.

IMG_20180807_204303.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-08T18:19:39
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 140.25/200.00
Total Photos: 24
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.50 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Nice shot from a great hike I belive.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05