Off The Road For Now

in #vanlife6 years ago

cardamage.jpg

Last Thursday I was stopped at a traffic light waiting for it to turn green and was suddenly jolted. I was pretty disoriented. Apparently a guy "didn't know what happened" and crashed into two other cars and me. From what witnesses were saying, he hit a car a ways before the intersection, then sped up and hit another car and me.

My neck has been a bit sore and stiff but I got it checked out and everything seems fine. I also hit my knees on the dash, but didn't suffer any injuries from that. No one else involved was seriously hurt, just some bruises. A pedestrian crossing the road got out of the way just in time to not get hit thankfully. Luckily none of the items in my car such as propane cylinders became deadly projectiles. My plywood bed frame jammed up into the passenger seat and dislodged it so I'm glad there wasn't a passenger. The plywood actually also bent up like a triangle and snapped in half. I had some other items damaged, mainly my dog's ash tin and a laptop that was crushed.

The guy's insurance is terrible and doesn't have the money to pay out for the damage caused to all of the vehicles. His agent told me it would likely be months before any money was given out. So I've been dealing with my insurance and his insurance but it looks like it's going to be a while before this gets resolved. I don't have rental on my insurance and his says they may reimburse eventually but I don't have the money for that now. My mom came and picked me and my stuff up so I'm down in the central valley in California now staying with her. It'll be nice to hang out with some family, my brother's coming back from Alaska this week.

Still waiting on assessments from the insurance, but given the value of the car and damages done, it looks to be a total loss. The frame is bent and as you can see the whole trunk area and exhaust is damaged. The rear right door is jammed shut and the fender is dragging on the rear right wheel. Guess we'll see.

Sort:  

Geez man... Think you'll go nomadic again eventually or is this the start of a new chapter?

That's something I haven't yet answered myself. Money is the main factor at this point and I'm not sure how that's going to play out.

I'm bummed I didn't meet up with you before you left Washington. I hope we still get the chance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94