Introduction

in #vanlife7 years ago

Hey guys! I'm new to Steemit and trying to figure out how this works. I'm a professional working in schools in Southern California and living out of my Ford Transit (much more to come on that later). On weekdays, I can usually be found at the climbing gym, yoga studio or a "big box" gym (for showers). On the weekends, you can find me outside climbing, hiking and exploring. IMG_9060.JPGIMG_9966.JPGIMG_9971.JPGIMG_0987.JPG

Sort:  

Welcome to the community! And omg omg omg!! Please do write more about your ford. I plan on doing the van life during my gap year!!

I definitely will! I plan on doing a series of posts about the build. I did all of the build (with some help from some knowledgeable friends for the electrical system) all on my own and it is SUPER doable :)

Wow! Welcome to Steemit! I certainly would like to know more about your lifestyle. I will be needing much more yoga in my life in coming months, so it's great that we found each other on Steemit. Good luck to you here on Steemit, and see you around ;) All the best, Klaudia

I've been sick since November, and haven't done a class in over a m the so I feel like I'm brand new to it too! We can motivate each other! I feel like this is a great place for motivation!

Hi! Glad to have you on board on Steemit! I am a fellow vegan. Looking especially forward to reading content on living in a van! Followed you. CU

Yay vegans!!!! Thanks for the shoutout! I only have one vegan friend in real life but have already felt so supported in this community!

glad to hear this! :)

Welcome to Steemit travelling girl! Looking forward to seeing all your travels and crazy yoga.

Thanks for introducing it to me! I'm still figuring everything out but it seems like a really genius system, from what I've learned so far!

Awesome! My climbing buddy has been searching for the right conversion van to travel and live out of. Dang those can get pricey. Gotta love the adventure life. Happy climbing! Look forward to reading more of your posts.

Yeah, conversion vans are crazy expensive -- it's because of who they're being marketed at. It's way easier just to get a regular old work van and put what you need in it. It shouldn't cost more than 10ish grand to get setup in a decent van.

I definitely think that building it yourself is the way to go as well! I have a lot of gear and stuff since I'm living in it full-time and don't have any other storage, so I needed to build mine specifically for my needs. I wouldn't have been able to do that in a conversion van. I did go with a brand new van though (after a huge loss from buying an old Sprinter off of Craigslist) and I'm happy to not have to worry about the van itself having any mechanical issues. I think my buildout probably cost $6,000 or so. Should have kept track of my spending on it!

Rock’n roll. Thanks for the tips. I’ll pass them along.

How do you feel about having the high top for parking? I got a shorter one because I was concerned about parking garages and "no vehicles over 7' tall between 2-5am" signs. But at the same time, I do occasionally get frustrated by not being able to stand up.

I'm really happy with the height. It's so easy to move around in, even when I have two people cooking/cleaning/living! And I've only had problems with actually needing to park in a garage one time (in Vegas) and we found an even better (and FREE) solution anyway, so it didn't end up being a problem. I also wanted a tall one so that I could build my bed up higher and have more space underneath for storage. Are you in your van full-time?

Thanks!! It's a lot easier than people think ;)

Welcome to another van lifer! I know we will see the wanderer community growing on Steemit.

I hope so! I'm already excited by how many we have so far!!

Welcome to Steemit! Those are great shots! I'm intrigued about your experiences in living in a van. Looking forward to your posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53