Bots Can Be Designed With Content Creators In Mind

in #value7 years ago (edited)

We see bots and automation take over Steemit. Auto upvoting posts so we don't "miss" on voting on a post because "we don't have enough time to read every post." Well if you're an actual user of the platform and not a bot user, there are ways for bots to be designed to help us do what we need to do without overlooking content.

If We Truly Value The Users, We Will Find And Make Time To Read And View The Content.

If you are around on the Discord chat app, some of you find your servers and jump on the voice chat and talk about Steemit all day with your fellow Steemians. Share posts that you found interesting for the day and helping each other find success on Steemit. Sometimes you can get caught up on a conversation on voice chat making better connections with fellow Steemians and not go through posts on Steemit.com but thanks to @inertia, he developed a chat bot on Discord that detects a first post from new user accounts. So instead of running around Steemit.com or having a bot auto upvoting, we have a bot presenting the content to us to take a look at rather then just voting automatically just because they are a new user to help with user growth. This chat bot allows other set of eyes to view the content. You could autovote and do some catch up reading but people usually "don't have enough time to read all the posts."

So here's what this chat bot looks like:

Screenshot:

Brief History


There's always a lot of brainstorming on ideas in the community to help Steemit grow and make it easier for users to get around Steemit.com and the Steem blockchain. User's @whatsup and @steempowertwins suggested the idea of this bot, so inertia took a stab at it and was able to make a variation on his Ganymede Site. Then was able to add it to Discord chat.

Essentially anyone can add this chat bot to their own Discord server if you know how to use a combination of python script and RSS/ATOM feeds but currently this chat bot in only running in @steemspeak on Discord You are welcome to join and check it out yourself, or even learn to add one to your own server :)

Thank you for taking the time to read my post.


Thank you for taking the time to read my post.
Feel free to follow and find me in Smart Media Group on Discord.

Follow SMG on other social media platforms and let's Tokenize The Web!

Twitter: @the_smartmedia

Instagram: @the_smartmedia

Sort:  

@inertia also made a channel that holds all of the "first" posts his bot finds. If others would like to greet people on their first post you can find them on Dicord, Steemspeak in the channel labeled, #first_post_en
https://discord.gg/D4nXc

Great post @bitcoinparadise

Thanks, Oh cool I didn't even know that's what that channel was for. That's awesome!

Yes indeed, I would love to have more readers. Not that I'm going to turn down automatic upvotes, but I really hope to find a following of people who will actually read and benefit from what I have to say! Thanks for a nice article. 😄😇😄

@creatr

Yes well if you really care about your followers, you don't want them to read just whatever.

I think this is a great direction for bots in general. I'm going to be making a modification to mine at some point over the next months to do something similar to this as I think there's a lot of people who would like a kind of "find me things I might miss" bot as opposed to a "vote on everything that will make me curation rewards" bot.

Thanks for sharing 😊

Bot's can be used for good and bad. Bot's don't have a conscious or morality, people do. Bot's do what we program them to do.

Couldn't agree more 😉

Yeah, only until someone programs a bot that feels pain when it finds typos, bad grammar, and boring content, and feels happiness when it reads really good stuff. =3

It'd be fun to know of a bot that responds to content, and updates its lists based on its own personal satisfaction. /me is a machine nerd x,x

That would be an advanced bot! Personal satisfaction would be a really hard thing to model. 🤔

Yeah, but it already exists, so all we've gotta do is copy it. =p
Just transcribe the feeling of enjoyment, love, appreciation for beauty, and other feelings into machine-code.

Beep boop. =3

[thread depth reached]

@heretickitten Yea I guess! 😅 If you can find the code for me I'd love to copy it and work on a project like that.

That is not how you pluralize. Bots*, not "bot's", or maybe you're trying to tell a story about something that belongs to the bot?

You mean bots care about grammar? :) Yea been reading so much posts I overlook my typos. Even in the title headline :P

Thanks, @bitcoinparadise.

I'm a lowly content creator, so I love it when bots swarm me!

I love writing articles about robots and stuff, so I'm not surprised they love me so much. I enjoy it even more when people actually read my stuff though!

If anyone has any cute lil' beepboops that wanna read my content, add me to your list! I totally loooooove philosophical discussions about machines. Heheh.

If that is you're reason to put out content, to have bots swarm you then that's your choice. That doesn't incentivise a low content creator to create high quality content. Which is why we see the crap we see on the trending page like a $100 movie review.

Not the reason.

It's just a glance at the Steemit ecosystem.
People who have botswarms get rich.

People who don't, don't get rich.

I want the botswarms, but even more than that, I want real people to read my stuff and love it.

I put a lot of work into my writing, and I don't bother appealing to the masses. I just speak my mind, so if you wanna read some of my stuff, and upvote it after clicking on it and reading the article, go for it.

As it is though, most of my posts are mostly unread, but still upvoted by bots.

I never asked for this. I never wanted the bots.
But that's what Steemit gave me, so I have no choice but to accept their upvotes.

LoL that is not true. If You get rich with bot swarms then why isn't everyone in the world on Steemit already? This is a false belief that bots are helping steemit grow. It is hurting the platform in the long run. Seeing the same fuckers that supposedly "work hard on their posts and deserve to get paid for it" which is why I see great content creators lower their quality and end up moving on to something else. The rewards are getting lower and lower, So curation rewards are getting lower and lower. Only ones that get rich are the ones that invest in Steem and actually give a a shit about content creators.

This is why the world is the way it is. "I just work here." Not here to make a difference, just work.

Yeah, "I'm just doin' my job" is a terrible thing to say.

But here, what am I to do in this case?
I'm not some political person.

I mean, you see my writing.

Do you read what I write?
I write for the person who values interesting ideas.

That's all I can do on here. I can't give money to the people who I appreciate, because I'm not a whale. I'm just stuck being a worthless minnow.

Someone told me "No, your vote isn't worthless!"

But it is. It is, and not seeing that is quite irritating.
There's only one (or more) solutions, but the most obvious is to completely eliminate the whales.

All current whales should have their account nullified, and their assets simply destroyed.

That's how revolutions work.

But who will do that?

And even more important, is that even possible, considering the blockchain aspect that Steemit incorporates?

Someone told me "No, your vote isn't worthless!"
But it is. It is, and not seeing that is quite irritating.

I apologize if I came across negatively, but I am saddened that you feel this way. That person that told you that is right. YOUR VOTE IS NOT WORTHLESS. Only if you let be....

Who will do what you said? Whoever is the one that chooses. If there's seems to be nobody, I will. I am currently trying with many others.

Thank you for this last comment.

Loading...

vote on stuff

Yeah, I still do vote on lots of stuff.

But it's for the same reason I'd upvote on a site like reddit or facebook.

And that reason is weak and sickly, compared to the big one: Give people bigggggg bundles of delicious cryptocurrency. For nothing more than clicking a button.

If I could, I would. If I could just get a bunch of steem power, I'd love it. I'd love being able to upvote a person and give them just "their two cents", ya know? =p

But I can't, so I'm left desperately writing on Steemit, hoping I'll make enough that I won't starve, and voting only because it's fun to read stuff.

But that's only half the game. The other half is voting to influence people.
I'm still surprised at a certain thing...

I'd talk about it, but only in DM via steemit.chat. ;D

Where did I write "vote on stuff"? Little confused on how you quoted me.

I hear you on your voting power. Just know I'm going to be watching what you vote on and may end up voting on those posts. I'm not a whale but with addition to your vote, it's worth a few cents. So can't really say your vote isn't worth anything now :P

Grow?
Oh noooo, I think bots are absolutely terrible.

For me, the individual, in the short term, bots are nice.
But yeah, don't think I'm blind to the reality of the situation.

Bots are absolutely wretched, and will do nothing but make the entire Steemit community a ghost town, except for a bunch of mindless robots.

Plus, there will be loads of those upvoter bots too. =p

Then I wouldn't say "love" when bots swarm.

Then I wouldn't say "love" when bots swarm.

Sorry, but I'm a human, and it's natural to seek sources of food and shelter.

In this world, that means money, and Steemit is a path to money.
I do what I can. I'm not some noble knight, nor am I some caped evil-doer.

I'm just trying to survive, and as it is, bots are profitable.

People are not. Change the system if you want, but I don't exist to change systems.

I'm just here to write stuff.

I'm just trying to survive, and as it is, bots are profitable.

This is why the world is the way it is. "I just work here." Not here to make a difference, just work.

where did I write...

I just quoted you so you remember where we are in the conversation. I mean, this whole conversation tree is a mess, but I didn't really have anything specific to quote you on, except you were telling me to vote on stuff no matter my whale-level.

Anyways, you've basically convinced me just now.

That's why I didn't bother quoting. I was at a "make or break" moment.

And yeah, you convinced me. Your logic stands strong, and I can't break it.
You're right, people are watching what people vote on, and seeing a post get one vote could get it more votes.

Your logic is sound, and is powerful, so there.
You win.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.01 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 15 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56