Valentine's Day realizations

in #valentines7 years ago

Today is still Valentine's Day and as someone who doesn't have a partner to celebrate with, I realize something today. Well. I have realized it long time ago but now I think it intensifies it more because of the wisdom I have honed now than before when I was still younger.

So the streets are full of people (mostly guys) holding a bouquet of roses, stuffed toys and/or chocolates/pastries. This is the day of the year where all men get worked up with impressing their girl and putting extra effort in making them feel special. There is nothing wrong with this. In fact, I admire it in a way. But is this really the time of the year where guys (or partners) should really exert extra effort? I think it's part of society's pressure too?

I feel bad for the women who feel they are less of a person because they don't have anyone to celebrate valentine's with or that they are not special because they received nothing today. I want you to know if you are reading this that you are special, you are unique,and that you are not defined by flowers or bears or chocolates and sweet notings. The universe is painting something special for you --- just be patient and being alone doesn't mean misery --- being single is a gift.

I wish everyone a happy valentines day! I spent my whole day today at the studio with my Pilates family <3 Where and how did you spend Valentines today? I wanna hear yours!

Capture.PNG

Sort:  

Hi Abigail, I am glad, you have your Pilates family! I am sure they really like you!
CU,
Chris

yes! I'm glad for them too! How about you? How was your valentines day?

Hey Abigail, it was quite a normal day with the exception that I made my girlfriend a special breakfast: https://steemit.com/vegan/@smallstepschange/stay-healthy-and-show-your-love-romantic-valentine-s-day-dessert
And she cooked a nice dinner. :)
Also went for a nice walk with some friends after work.
Was a nice day after all!
Cu,
Chris

Glad to hear it! In my country valentines day is overrated and you see girls carrying flowers and chocolates and bears all the time. Mostly the young ones. It’s an ordinary day for me but some of my girl friends are weepy. Hehehehe

Hey Abigail, I would say for a lot of girls and women in my country (Austria), it is also a big thing. They would, for example, not be amused if their partners forgot about it. But I'd say it is more pronounced for those who are more conservative. Nevertheless, most men buy at least flowers for their partners. Nowadays, also some women buy flowers for their men, so often it is a mutual thing.
My partner and I do not care a lot about those single "special" days. We mostly do our own thing. :)
CU and have a good day!
Chris
P.S.: I think you are a good role model for your girlfriends. ;)

Ahah! I didn't know it is a thing to your country too! And I'm in awe that girls buy their partners flowers too. hihihi. I'd prolly buy my partner a video game or whatever on special occasion but yes I do agree with you. I am not a fan of those "worldwide" single special days too. I think everyday can be SPECIAL so long as you are with your loved ones.

Good job on your small steps change advocacy too!! I call it baby steps <3 but yes we all start small right? :)

xoxo.

you are right, every right has the potential to be a special day. It would be very sad if everything would be focused only on one day. Then the rest of the year would be very dull and boring. 😀
Yeah, I love babysteps! 😂
CU,
Chris

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63324.37
ETH 2452.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69