Day 118 - Prompt: lace

in #valentineday6 years ago




Great Grandma with eleven of her thirteen children



Great Grandma



Soft.
Frail.
Loving.
Sweet.
Graceful.
Open.
Comforting.
White.
Lace.
Ladylike.
Strong.
Stern.
Grand.
Never complaining.
No getting away.
Eyes all around.
Seeing all, in her world.
The monarch of many.
Many aspire to be.
Love gave unconditionally.
Lace was meant as a warning.
Never to touch where it lay.
Bringing beauty to the woman living a life,
most would never survive.
She thrived.
Lucky enough to be seen in her path,
thinking of her with the love she always deserved.



I'm the one with the pink dress and band-aids (plasters) on both knees!



This is my Day 118 - 5 Minute Frewrite Click! You know you want to!!



Snook


Sort:  

Awwa this is wonderful!!! Such awesome photos, and the poem is wonderful!!! That is funny that both your knees are bandaged lol. But you do look cute with the pink dress!

I was always bandaged up much to my mom's regret lolll
Hugs Back <3

I love this! 😊

Thank you!!!!!

Happy valentines day!!! I hope you and your wife and a wonderful day!!! :D

“The monarch of many…” Could apply to my own Gran, who was one of sixteen. The rest, though, put me in mind of my great-grandma Mary (the mother of that sixteen), whom I never heard ever raise her voice in anger, and whose loyalty and care remains legendary in our family. Thank you for your words that reminded me so powerfully of her that her scent came to me.

You are very welcome and thank YOU for sharing your story with me :D

What a bumble foot you must have been, both knees at the same time,
probably from playing with all the boys [they don't seem to damage as easy as girls for some reason]. :-)
Happy memories.

HA! I was!! very much so :D but I was tough too :D My Mom kept putting me in dresses hoping I would be a girly girl LOLL

More fun being a boy, if we stuffed up Dad would say " it is a boy thing, he'll grow out of it someday"
Girls were supposed to be " sugar and spice and all things nice" in dresses and white sox that they had to keep clean.

the poem feels a very stream of conscious and, thus, genuine emotional connection to you and your great grandmother, @snook, a great tribute and reminder to family and its importance in all our lives.

Thank you so much for sharing.

Thank you for stopping to read and I'm very happy you enjoyed it!!

That was really beautiful and awww... Your grandmother seems really sweet 😊 love the pictures and you look really cute looking at her and I always had plasters on my knees to 😁lol

<3 thanks!! and she was the best!! I was very blessed that way!

I know that feeling very well as I love mine to alot and she's a wonderful inspiration and humble spirit 🤗

What is it with old pictures that warms my heart and paints a smile on my face? I love those pictures you shared. I thought that pink dress looks good on you, in spite of those band-aids, and that look on grandma. LoL. I liked your freewrite too, simple yet profound.

@yadah04 I read your comment right before I went to bed and you made me smile and have very happy thoughts and I thank You so much for that!!!

Thank YOU so much for stopping and reading and making me smile <3 hugs

Aw, that was so sweet. I am glad it made you smile. thanks for that hugs too @snook

Wonderful! It very much reminds me of my own grandmother. The things that generation lived through... and raising that many children through it all!

Great freewrite!
Also, today I am helping the freewriters by delivering today’s prompt: Fried Chicken
@byn

yeah, I have no idea how they did it all!

and thank you for the prompt <3

Wow what a big family. I love the way you were looking at her. May you always cherish those memories. :-)

I do!! some of the best memories I have is being near my Great Grandma. I was very lucky that way!!

thank you for stopping and reading!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53